Thursday, June 13, 2024

MIR Claims IHRA Division 1 Summit Team Finals Championship

IHRA Summit Team Finals

MECHANICSVILLE, Md. — Maryland International Raceway claimed the championship at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 1 (Patriots) Summit Team Finals held over the weekend at Maryland International Raceway.

2018 IHRA division 1 summit team finals mir team winner

Maryland International Raceway captured the team title 63-37 over US 13 Dragway which finished the weekend in the runner-up spot.

Other tracks who participated were: Capitol Raceway, Richmond Dragway, Sumerduck Dragway, and Motor Mile Dragway.

Leading up to the main event, racers participated in a Gambler’s, Bogey, Golf Cart, and Big Wheels races and “best of” awards.

Main Event:


John Myers (Capitol Raceway) defeated Mickey Nelson (Maryland International Raceway) .001 reaction time with a 6.23 elapsed time at 109.85 mph on a 6.21 dial-in on a 109.85 mph run. Nelson had a .010 reaction time and went down the track with a 4.80-second pass at 140.69 mph.

2018 IHRA division 1 summit team finals top winner


Chris Moren (Richmond Dragway) claimed the top prize with a .026 reaction time and 5.94-second run at 112.52 mph. Runner-up Jonathan Martin (Richmond Dragway) went down the track with a .022 reaction time and 5.91-second pass at 111.52 mph.

2018 IHRA division 1 summit team finals mod winner

Junior Dragster

In a battle of Maryland International Raceway drivers, Tori Tayman took home the victory in Junior Dragsters over runner-up A.J. Jenkins. Tayman went down the track with a .046 reaction time and a 7.91-second pass at 81.09 mph. Jenkins had a slightly faster .037 reaction time with a 7.89-second pass at 81.49 mph.

2018 IHRA division 1 summit team finals junior dragster winner

Other Results

Team Captains Race

Mike Anderson (Sumerduck Dragway) defeated Royce Miller (Maryland International Raceway) with a .068 reaction time and 13.42-second pass. Miller went down the track with a .077 reaction time at 14.76 seconds.


Friday’s Gambler’s Race

Top — Alex Bradford (US 13 Dragway) 4.87 on a 4.85 dial-in, .029 reaction time defeated Eden Lukhard (Richmond Dragway) 5.02 on a 5.02 dial-in, .122 reaction time.

Mod — Kevin Yates (US 13 Dragway) 6.05 on a 6.02 dial-in, .015 reaction time defeated Steve Cross Sr. (Maryland International Raceway) 6.37 on a 6.38 dial-in, .061 reaction time.

Junior — Dylan Witherow (Sumerduck Dragway) 7.95 on a 7.94 dial-in, -.004 reaction time defeated Jordan Witherow (Maryland International Raceway) 8.04 on a 8.05 dial-in, -.026 reaction time.


Saturday’s Gamblers Race

Top — Jason Kirby (Maryland International Raceway) 4.81 on a 4.61 dial-in, .029 reaction time defeated Ben Calhoun who red lighted (Sumerduck Dragway) 8.55 on a 4.68 dial-in, -.006 reaction time.

Mod — Kevin Pollard (Motor Mile Dragway) 5.30 on a 5.30 dial-in, .016 reaction time defeated Tony Mattera (Maryland International Raceway) 6.61 on a 6.62 dial-in, .018 reaction time.

Junior — Peyton Bunch (Sumerduck Dragway) 8.77 on an 8.58 dial-in, .015 reaction time defeated Hailey Pumphrey (Richmond Dragway) 8.00 on a 7.92 dial-in, .236 reaction time.


Friday Bogey Race

Top — John Myers (Capitol Raceway)

Mod — Alan Thatcher (Sumerduck Dragway)

Junior — Keith Riddle (US 13 Dragway)


Saturday Bogey Race

Top — Ben Parks (US 13 Dragway)

Mod — Donald Jones (Capitol Raceway)

Junior — Zach Shirkey (Capitol Raceway)

Saturday Gamblers – Big Wheel Open

Winner — Ella Ketterman (US 13 Dragway)

Runner-Up — Amber Shaeffer (US 13 Dragway)

Semi — William Raley (Maryland International Raceway)

Semi — Noah Dustin (Capitol Raceway)


Saturday Gamblers- Golf Cart Eliminator

Winner — Brad Keyton (US 13 Dragway)

Runner-Up — A.J. Jenkins (Maryland International Raceway)



Special Awards

Best Appearing Full Bodied Car — Doug Minter, Maryland

Best Engineered Full Bodied Car — Buddy Mcgowan, Capitol Raceway

Best Appearing Junior Dragster — Cole Foske, US 13 Dragway

Best Engineered Junior Dragster — Ryan Davis, Capitol Raceway

Best Appearing Open Body Car — Brianna Lukhard, Richmond Dragway

Best Engineered Open Body Car — Jason Kirby, Maryland International Raceway

Best Team Spirit — Richmond Dragway

Best Appearing Sponsor Banner — Motor Mile Dragway

Best Appearing Grandstands — US 13 Dragway

Best Appearing Team — Motor Mile Dragway


Team Standings

  1. Maryland International Raceway                    63
  2. US 13 Dragway                                               37
  3. Capitol Raceway                                             29
  4. Richmond Dragway                                        25
  5. Sumerduck Dragway                                      23
  6. Motor Mile Dragway                                        3


Drag Champ is your source for IHRA sportsman drag racing news and race results, visit Drag Champ daily for all your bracket racing news online.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.