Monday, April 15, 2024

Miller, Grame, & Sauder Make Multiple Finals at SRCA Double Header

NHRA division 5GREAT BEND, Kan.– Megan Meyer and Kris Hool raced to victory in the second half of this weekend’s NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Thunder on the Plains double header at SRCA Dragstrip.

Meyer defeated her sister Rachel in a close round one battle then took out Christine Chambless to advance to the final in Top Alcohol Dragster against Dean Dubbin. Dubbin, Royalton, Minn., was out first but quickly had problems and Meyer, Olathe, Kan., sped by for the win and her second of the year stopping the clocks at 7.199, 263.82.

Hool, out of Evansville, Wyo., qualified No. 1 in Top Alcohol Funny Car and would face off with No. 2 qualifier Lance Van Hauen in the money round. Hool was out first and led from start to finish with a 5.817 second, 255.39 mph pass to Van Hauen who slowed to an 8.143, 116.99.

In Comp Eliminator it was Saturday’s runner-up Matt Harris who took it one step further for the win in defeating Chard Voges. Harris went 7.810, 172.76 to Voges’ 7.979 at 151.99 mph.

Michael Miller turned the tables on Mark Grame to take the Super Comp title and the 11th of his career running 9.526 at 140.68. Grame, Overland Park, Kan., beat Miller in Saturday’s action.

Steve Hayes and Mark Von Heeder took home trophies in Super Gas and Super Street respectively. Hayes beat out Don Nichols in a dead heat as both racers put together .038 second packages. Von Heeder was out first on Saturday’s winner Rodger Sauder which forced Sauder to run too quick and break out. The win was Von Heeder’s first out of Ainsworth, Neb.

In the ADP Top Sportsman class, it was Kirk Piepke driving his ’07 GTO to the win and Randy Dahlberg took out Les Feist in the Fineline Madcap Top Dragster class. Piepke covered the quarter mile in 7.237 at 167.88 over Allen Firestone and Dahlberg went 7.231, 145.58 against Feist who fouled at the start.

Rounding out the weekend’s winners were Wyatt Wagner, Baschor, Kan., in Super Stock winning over Jared Swinehart, Tom Mosbek downed Logan Wernet in Stock, Dave Olsen put Michael Shelton on the trailer in Sportsman Motorcycle and Bruce Sampson defeated John Fitzpatrick in the Voss Shootout.

Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series

This was the last event in the 2018 NHRA West Central Division but racers can compete outside their division and continue to earn points toward the 2018 championship.

The following are Sunday’s final results from the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, West Central Division Thunder on the Plains:


Round 1

5) Megan Meyer, Olathe, Kan., 5.445, 271.68 def. 4) Rachel Meyer, Spring Hill, Kan., 5.455, 265.90

8) Christine Chambless, Scott City, Kan., 5.388, 263.36 def. 1) Joey Severance, Woodburn, Ore., 5.395, 266.00

2) Dean Dubbin, Royalton, Minn., 5.488, 259.36 def. 7) Gary Cooper, Wichita, Kan., foul

3) Shayne Lawson, Broken Arrow, Okla., 5.401, 263.67 def. 6) James Stevens, Gothenburg, Neb., 5.452, 263.10


Dubbin, 9.301, 89.09 def. Lawson, broke

  1. Meyer, 5.270, 278.40 def. Chambless, 8.442, 107.03


  1. Meyer, 7.199, 263.82 def. Dubbin, 7.362, 124.94


Round 1

1) Kris Hool, Evansville, Wyo., ’16 Camaro, 5.718, 253.28 was unopposed

2) Lance Van Hauen, Reinbeck, Iowa, ’18 Camaro, 6.441, 231.64 def. 5) Kirk Williams, Glenwood, Iowa, ’02 Firebird, 6.703, 244.47

4) Chris Foster, Davenport, Iowa, ’16 Monte Carlo, 5.996, 249.67 def. 3) Tony Bogolo, Hamilton, Ohio, ’02 Camaro, 6.001, 241.63


Hool, 6.613, 195.62 def. Foster, foul

Van Hauen, broke was unopposed


Hool, 5.817, 255.39 def. Van Hauen, 8.143, 116.99


Matt Harris, Bellevue, Neb., ’10 Colbalt, D/A, 7.810, 172.76 def. Chad Voges, St. Peters, Mo., ’14

Neil & Parks, K/AA, 7.979, 151.99.


Wyatt Wagner, Baschor, Kan., ’68 Camaro, SS/GA, 9.987, 129.31 def. Jared Swinehart, Piedmont,

Okla., ’98 S-10, GT/TA, 9.818, 133.32.


Tim Mosbek, Andover, Minn., ’72 Dodge, F/SA, 11.240, 111.56 def. Logan Wernet, Mason City, Iowa,

’62 Plymouth, E/SA, 11.277, 110.25.


Michael Miller, Moniarty, N.M., ’10 TNT, 9.526, 140.68 def. Mark Grame, Overland Park, Kan., ’11

Dragster, 21.478, 74.28.


Steve Hayes, Aurora, Colo., ’68 Camaro, 10.067, 164.25 def. Don Nichols, Lincoln, Neb., ’57

Chevrolet, 10.055, 161.81.


Mark Von Heeder, Ainsworth, Neb., ’68 Camaro, 11.066, 149.96 def. Rodger Sauder, Sidney, Neb., ’72

Barracuda, 11.022, 150.16.


Kirk Piepke, Pauls Valley, Okla., ’07 GTO, 7.237, 167.88 def. Allen Firestone, Velma, Okla., ’16

Camaro, 11.986, 63.24.


Randy Dahlberg, Hudson, Colo., ’12 Undercover, 7.231, 145.58 def. Les Feist, Clearwater, Minn.,

’13 Miller, foul.


Dave Olsen, Littleton, Colo., ’01 Kawasaki, 8.854, 145.31 def. Michael Shelton, Great Bend, Kan.,

’09 Hayabusa, 9.512, 138.68.


Bruce Sampson, Forest Lake, Minn., ’99 , 8.303, 156.28 def. John Fitzpatrick, Wichita, Kan., ’05 ,

8.400, 152.83.

Click here to see results from the first half of the SCRA LODRS double-header.

DragChamp is your source for NHRA sportsman racing results online.  Visit Drag Champ daily for the lastest drag race results from NHRA sportsman racing.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.