Sunday, July 14, 2024

Burleson, Gulitti Cash in at Texas Turkey Hunt

Donny Burleson and Cory Gulitti lead the winners at the first-ever Texas Turkey Hunt Thanksgiving weekend bracket race at Houston Raceway.

BAYTOWN, Tex. – The crew at Houston Raceway Park threw their first-ever Texas Turkey Hunt big dollar bracket race over the Thanksgiving weekend. Around 175 racers from Texas, Louisiana, and as far away as Minnesota, descended upon the Texas super track for a weekend of racing.

The event featured $5K and $10K races for the Super Pro class and two $5K races for No-Box racers. While the race was scheduled for Friday and Saturday, intermittent rain postponed Saturday’s finals until Sunday.

The race featured a live stream by DragRacerTV and announcers Ryan Gleghorn and Chris Monaghan on the mic.

Friday $5,000 Results

Super Pro

Donny Burleson and Chris Gulitti

Donny Burleson drove his Burleson Construction dragster past the Firebird of Aaron Milton. Burleson, Richmond, TX, was .022 dead seven for the win after Milton, Deland, MN, was .007 and -.007 under his dial.


Texas Turkey Hunt
Mike Murray

Mike Murray won the battle of the trucks in the Friday No-Box final over Matthew Beckcom. After both racers missed the tree, Murray managed to get there by .002 to take the big win in his ’00 Dakota. Beckcom ran dead three to his dial but came up a little short in his S-10.

Saturday Guaranteed Million Shootout Results

Saturday morning kicked off with two Great American Guaranteed Million Shootouts. Jay Robinson and Chanse Bullock both earned entries into the 2020 event.

This was Jay’s second time to win an entry through a shootout. Jay won his first entry at the Hot August Nights race earlier this summer.

Not long after the shootouts were completed, rain moved into the area which pushed racing until Sunday.

Jay Robinson with Cassandra Windham
Texas Turkey Hunt
Chanse Bullock

Saturday / Sunday Race Results

Super Pro

Texas Turkey Hunt

Young gun Cory Gulitti dominated the action in the $10K event after taking two entries down to three cars. He took the bye in one entry and lost the other to LeRoy O’Bryant and his Chevy Monza. In the final round, O’Bryant was -.009 red handing the big payday to Gulitti. Cory let go .005 for the win.


Texas Turkey Hunt

The No-Box final came down to a couple of classic muscle cars. Ronnie Speer, in his ’64 Corvette, was .009 take .002 to earn the $5,000 win over Zach Martinez. Martinez, in his ’65 Chevelle, was .013 at the tree but ran .019 above to come up short.

DragChamp is your source for bracket racing news and drag race results!

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.