Friday, September 29, 2023

Capitol Raceway wins IHRA D1 Summit Team Finals

Capitol Raceway edges Maryland at IHRA Division 1 Summit Team Finals

MECHANICSVILLE, Md. — Capitol Raceway scored a close win over home track Maryland International Raceway at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 1 (Patriots) Summit Team Finals completed Monday.

Capitol Raceway ended with 55-51 points to keep Maryland International Raceway from repeating as Division 1 champions.

Capitol Raceway Team Champions

Leading up to the main event, racers participated in a Gambler’s race, Bogey, Golf Cart, and Big Wheels race and “best of” awards.

Division 1 Summit Team Finals Main Event


Frank Lecates Top winner Summit Team Finals

Frank Lecates (US 13 Dragway) had a winning effort with a .005 reaction time combined with a 4.787 elapsed time at 142.57 mph on a 4.78 dial-in. Runner-up Bobby Spence (Capitol Raceway) had a .015 reaction time and made a 4.307-second pass at 158.39 mph against a 4.30 dial-in.


Frank Thompson Jr Mod winner Summit Team Finals

Frank Thompson Jr. (Maryland International Raceway) used a 6.011-second pass at 109.34 mph against a 5.99 dial-in with a .010 reaction time to win. Mike Keyton (Roxboro Motorsports Park) matched his 5.82 dial-in at 118.02 mph, but was slower at the tree with a .099 start.

Junior Dragster

Gayge Farrell Summit Team Finals Jr Dragster

Gayge Farrell won with a 12.375 against an 11.90 dial-in with a .022 reaction time. Zach Parlett had a 10.414 elapsed time against an 11.90 dial-in with a .067 reaction time.

Other Results

Pit Vehicle Race

Ray Snoots (Maryland) defeated Bradley Tippett (Maryland) with a .002 reaction time and 9.03-second pass against a 9.00 dial-in. Tippett went down the track in 11.315 seconds against a 11.30 dial-in, along with a .049 reaction time.

Friday’s Gambler’s Race

Top — Bobby Bladen III (Capitol Raceway) 5.012 on a 5.00 dial-in, .001 reaction time defeated Jena Martin (Maryland International Raceway) 4.654 on a 4.67 dial-in, .045 reaction time.

Mod — Daryl Beauchamp (US 13 Dragway) 7.571 on a 7.59 dial-in, .016 reaction time defeated Ed Talbert (Capitol Raceway) 6.83 on a 6.83 dial-in, -.006 reaction time.

Junior — Allen Jenkins (Maryland International Raceway) 12.375 on an 11.90 dial-in, .022 reaction time defeated Zach Parlett (Maryland International Raceway) 10.414 on an 11.90 dial-in, .067 reaction time.

Saturday’s Gamblers Race

Top — Jerry Langley (Maryland International Raceway) 4.733 on a 4.72 dial-in, .006 reaction time defeated Ben Calhoun (Capitol Raceway) 4.708 on a 4.68 dial-in, .012 reaction time.

Mod — Kris Bunch (Summerduck Dragway) 8.979 on a 7.63 dial-in, .010 reaction time defeated Tony Mattera (Maryland International Raceway) 6.648 on a 6.65 dial-in, -.007 reaction time.

Junior — Cole Foskey (US 13 Dragway) 8.948 on an 8.91 dial-in, .010 reaction time defeated Zach Parlett (Maryland International Raceway) 9.38 on a 9.02 dial-in, .095 reaction time.

Friday Bogey Race:

Top — Ben Garnett (US 13 Dragway)

Mod — Steven Truitt (US 13 Dragway)

Junior — Keith Riddle (US 13 Dragway)

Special Awards:

Best Appearing Full Bodied Car — Doug Minter, Maryland

Best Engineered Full Bodied Car — Buddy Mcgowan, Capitol Raceway

Best Appearing Junior Dragster — Cole Foske, US 13 Dragway

Best Engineered Junior Dragster — Ryan Davis, Capitol Raceway

Best Appearing Open Body Car — Brianna Lukhard, Richmond Dragway

Best Engineered Open Body Car — Jason Kirby, Maryland International Raceway

Best Team Spirit — Richmond Dragway

Best Appearing Sponsor Banner — Motor Mile Dragway

Best Appearing Grandstands — US 13 Dragway

Best Appearing Team — Motor Mile Dragway


Team Standings

1. Capitol Raceway                                55

2. Maryland International Raceway       51

3. US Dragway                                       32

4. Sumerduck Dragway                          28

5. Roxboro Motorsports Park                 16

6. Richmond Dragway                           15

7. Motor Mile Dragway                            3

For more IHRA drag racing news and drag race results, click here.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.