Thursday, July 18, 2024

Top Canadian Facility Renews IHRA Sanction

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. — Grand Bend Motorplex, one of Canada’s premier racing facilities, has reached a multi-year sanctioning agreement with the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA).

Located on 407 acres in Huron County, Ontario, the Grand Bend Motorplex is a multi-purpose motorsports facility that consists of a 1/4-mile drag strip, a 1/4-mile high banked paved oval, a multi-circuit road course for cars, bikes and go-karts. The facility includes ample parking, unobstructed seating, a rough camping area, paved roads throughout the pit area, washrooms with showers, and a licensed track side food and beverage court.

Grand Bend Motorplex logo

The 20th annual Mopar Canadian Nationals highlights the list of special events. It is Eastern Canada’s largest drag racing event with over 350 participants. It features Top Fuel dragsters, Nostaglia Nitro Funny Cars, Nitro Harleys, Pro Mods, Outlaws, Jet Trucks, a Studebaker Wheelstander, CAN/AM Stock/Superstock and hundreds of Sportsman competitors.

“The ability to operate as a world class large scale National Event style facility yet remain in touch with the weekly racers keeps ‘The Bend’ in a rare group of drag strips,” IHRA Division Director Jon O’Neal said. “The phrase ‘home track’ has a very strong meaning to the racers of Grand Bend and it takes a lot of emphasis and drive to maintain that relationship.”

“The racers are humble and kind to those traveling to the facility both from other provinces in Canada and from The States. The team is often the life of the party at the Team Finals, yet show their true side with a ‘take no prisoners’ attitude once through the water box.”

IHRA Member Track Logo

Grand Bend has a tremendous record in the IHRA Summit SuperSeries program with three racers going on to capture championships at the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals in Memphis.

Steve Doornbosch won the IHRA Summit SuperSeries No Box championship in 2003, the first year it was contested, and Will Steckly was the 2007 No Box champion. Ten years later in 2017, Luke Schweimer won the IHRA Summit SuperSeries Junior Dragster World Championship.

For 2018, track champions were Ed Smith (Box), Will Steckly (No Box) and Arnold Fox (Junior Dragster). This year, the 2019 Street ET (Sportsman) champion will also qualify for the World Finals.

For more information about Grand Bend Motorplex, click here. For a list of IHRA member tracks, click here.

For more IHRA drag racing news online, click here.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.