Sunday, June 16, 2024

IHRA Results from Farmington Dragway

Ten Drivers Earn Event Wins at IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular Opener at Farmington Dragway

MOCKSVILLE, N.C. — Ten different drivers ended up as event winners at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman Spectacular season-opener at Farmington (N.C.) Dragway. It was the largest IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular to date with over 300 entries each day.

Michael Paschal from Greensboro, N.C., won the Moser Engineering Saturday $5,000-to-win top prize for the Top division and Roger Robertson from Blowing Rock, N.C., took the Top division’s $5,000 top prize for Battle Born Batteries Sunday.

Roger Robertson d2 top wnr2 - ihra results from farmington dragway
Roger Robertson

Paschal went down the track in 4.696 seconds at 147.01 mph against a 4.70 dial-in paired with a .019 reaction time to beat Chris Mancini of Allison Park, Pa., in the final round. Mancini had a .014 reaction time and then posted a 6.297 elapsed time at 108.28 mph against a 6.31 dial-in. Both drivers won additional prize money as part of IHRA member bonuses.

Michael Paschal d1 top wnr2 - ihra results from farmington dragway
Michael Paschal

Corey Hawks from Winston-Salem, N.C., captured the $2,500-to-win Footbrake title when opponent Brandon White from Hillsville, Va., red-lighted in the final round. With the race in hand, Hawks eased down the track in 10.747 seconds against a 6.30 dial-in. White was just -.007 too quick at the starting line.

Corey Hawks d1 fb wnr2 - ihra results from farmington dragway
Corey Hawks

In the Junior Dragster class, Phillip Radford from Radford, Va., had a solid run of 9.056 seconds at 67.38 mph against a 9.03 dial-in after a .071 start. Runner-up Ben Gibson posted numbers of 8.013 seconds at 80.72 mph against a 7.97 dial-in. Gibson had a .059 reaction time.

Phillip Radford d1 jr wnr2
Phillip Radford

Two other races at Farmington included the Street and Teen divisions.

Brad Carpenter from Galax, Va., won on a holeshot in Street .065 to .123 for runner-up Darrell Hobbs from Lexington, N.C. Carpenter’s final package included a 7.584-second run at 87.65 mph against a 7.56 dial-in. Hobbs finished in 8.07 seconds at 84.81 mph against an 8.05 dial-in.

For more IHRA bracket racing news and drag race results, click here.

In a teen final of North Carolina racers, Nick Smith from Lenoir was the victor with his .086 reaction time faster than the .188 start by Bryce Childress from Mocksville. Smith made it down the track in 11.034 seconds at 60.54 mph, while Childress made an 11.508-second pass at 61.97 mph.

Nick Smith d1 teen wnr2
Nick Smith

More big money was on the line Sunday and Robertson claimed another $5,000-to-win top prize in the Top division. He was quick off the starting tree with a .023 reaction time and then motored down the track in 5.816 seconds at 115.98 mph against a 5.78 dial-in. Anthony Briggs from Lexington, N.C., finished in 5.995 seconds at 114.53 mph against 5.95 dial-in and claimed the runner-up spot.

Jamie Houston from Wytheville, Va., captured the $2,500-to-win Footbrake victory. He had a .029 reaction time and then ran 6.382 seconds at 103.26 against a 6.37 dial-in. Nick Lucas from Seymour, Tenn., finished runner-up with a 6.851-second run at 107.17 mph against a 6.59 dial-in, along with a .033 reaction time.

Ozell Brown from Renick, W. Va., denied Radford’s bid to sweep Junior Dragster victories. His quick .038 reaction time and an 8.216 elapsed time at 71.35 mph against an 8.15 dial-in outweighed Radford’s final run of 9.225 seconds at 67.38 mph against a 9.06 dial-in with a .073 reaction time.

Ozell Brown d2 jr wnr2
Ozell Brown

In the Street division, Chris Gibson from Lexington, N.C., took the win over Bob Goss from Advance, N.C., who red-lighted in the final. With a .053 reaction time, Gibson cruised down the track at 11.798 seconds against an 11.86 dial-in. Goss came painstakingly close to a perfect start, going -.005 too quick at the tree. He was spot-on down the track, posting an 8.082-second run against an 8.08 dial-in.

Chris Gibson d2 strt wnr2 - ihra results from farmington dragway
Chris Gibson

The Teen final featured a rematch with this time Childress coming out on top with an 11.553-second run at 62 mph against an 11.50 dial-in. He had a .042 reaction time, while Smith fouled -.009 at the start. Smith’s final run was 11.050 seconds at 63.25 mph against a 10.94-second dial-in.

Bryce Childress d2 teen wnr2 - ihra results from farmington dragway
Bryce Childress

The IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular moves to State Capitol Raceway, Port Allen, La., on March 29-31. Click here to view event details for State Capitol Raceway. To become an IHRA member please call (561) 337-3015 or email membership@ihra.com.

DragChamp Logo

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.