Friday, May 24, 2024

IHRA Xtreme Raceway Results – Hamlin, Howard Win

TRUMBULL, Texas — Racers from Texas and Oklahoma came away big winners at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman Spectacular at Xtreme Raceway Park.

IHRA Sportsman Spectacular Logo

Tripp West and Jake Howard took Super Pro and Pro wins during Moser Engineering Saturday. John Stephan and Scooter Hamlin ruled those classes during Battle Born Batteries Sunday.

West from Walters, Okla., captured Saturday’s Super Pro title with a final-round run of 6.296 seconds at 107.86 mph against a 6.28 dial-in. His reaction time of .008 was slightly better than the .011 posted by runner-up Josh Burrow from Forney, Texas. Burrow went down the track in 6.301 seconds at 106.38 mph against a 6.29 dial-in.

Tripp West Saturday Top Champion
Tripp West
Tripp West

Howard won on a holeshot (.013 to .048) to capture the Pro division win. He had an elapsed time of 6.558 seconds at 104.90 mph against a 6.55 dial-in, while runner-up Kevin Martin from Springtown, Texas finished in 6.094 seconds at 111.83 mph against a 6.10 dial-in.

Jake Howard Mod Champion Saturday
Jake Howard

The event also featured a 5.00 race with Bruce Dodson from Grand Prairie, Texas getting the win after Steve Wang from Norman, Okla, redlighted in the final. Dodson posted a 4.97 elapsed time at 137.11 mph, while Wang finished his run in 5.742 seconds at 138.21 mph.

Michael Beard Leads Winners at IHRA Sportsman Spectacular at Keystone Raceway

Bobby Bates from Paris, Texas won on a holeshot in the 5.50 race. His start of .007 eclipsed the .040 posted by runner-up Steven Hanson from Red Oak, Texas. Bates went down the track in 5.517 seconds at 114.13 mph, while Hanson ended in 5.525 seconds at 124.04 mph.

Kenny Teer from Roanoke, Texas won the Street race after finishing in 7.578 seconds at 88.01 mph against a 7.52 dial-in. Brandy Ray from Blooming Grove, Texas had the better start .107 to .131, but came up short with an elapsed time of 10.342 seconds at 68.43 mph against a 10.38 dial-in.

In the Quick Open class, Don Boulware from Irving, Texas won with a 4.648 elapsed time at 146.06 mph against a 4.62 dial-in, coupled with a .026 reaction time. Runner-up Bryce Self finished in 4.687 seconds at 146.87 mph against a 4.67 dial-in with a .040 reaction time.

Addyson Owen from Corsicana, Texas ruled the Junior Dragster ranks with a holeshot win .030 to .102 over Logan Atkins from Lewisville, Texas. Owen also had a winning pass of 7.908 seconds at 82.19 mph, while Atkins had an 11.921-second run at 52.64 mph.

Addy Owen jr dragster
Addyson Owen

Stepan was quick at the starting line with a .005 reaction time and solid down the track to win Sunday’s Super Pro final. The Grand Prairie, Texas driver recorded a 6.158-second run at 109.97 mph against a 6.15 dial-in. Runner-up Ronny Crow from Justin, Texas had a .019 reaction time and went 5.858 seconds at 117.37 mph against a 5.83 dial-in.

John Stepan Sun. Top Champion
John Stepan

Hamlin from Tomball, Texas won a closely-contested Pro final with a 6.757-second pass at 100.31 mph against a 6.75 dial-in, along with a .034 reaction time. Ian Dunaway came up just short with a package which included a 6.082-second run at 112.90 mph against a 6.08 dial-in, along with a .040 reaction time.

Scooter Hamlin Sun. Mod Champion
Scooter Hamlin

Owen’s hopes for sweeping the weekend in the Junior Dragster ranks were dashed by redlighting at the start. Justin Miles from Gilmer, Texas took the trophy with a 7.692-second pass at 80.37 mph. Owen finished runner-up with a 7.915-second run at 83.80 mph.

The IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular returns for a season finale August 23-25 at Maryland International Raceway.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.