Monday, July 22, 2024

2019 NHRA Southeast Division 2 Champions

The NHRA Southeast Division crowns their 2019 champions. 2019 World Champions Ray Miller III and Sandy Wilkins highlight the all star list of sportsman champs.

After a long season which included six Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series events between February and October, the NHRA Southeast Division crowned its 2019 champions recently.

DragChamp.com Logo

The list of Division 2 champions reads like a who’s who of NHRA sportsman racers including 2019 World Champions Ray Miller III and Sandy Wilkins. Joining them were Van Puckett, Marion Stephenson, Jeff Hairrington, John Labbous Jr, Jonathan Anderson, and Jeff Strickland. 

For more on each champion, see the 2019 Division 2 recap below.


NHRA Southeast Division 2 Champions

Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series

Competition Eliminator – Van Puckett

Van Puckett
Van Puckett

After finishing the season with two divisional wins, Van Puckett cruised to the Division 1 Competition Eliminator Championship. With a total of 307 points, Puckett held off to contenders Randy Daniels and Jim Kimbrough, who finished second and third respectively. 

In his two final rounds, Puckett claimed wins at the Baby Gators in Gainesville and Heartland Park. 

Super Stock – Marion Stephenson

Marion Stephenson
Marion Stephenson

Marion Stephenson drove his Chevy Cobalt to the Division 2 Super Stock Championship after starting off the season strong with two wins back-to-back. Emily Volkman and Joel Warren, who finished second and third, tried to give Stephenson a run for his money but he was able to finish the season with 383 points to secure the championship.

Stephenson posted his two divisional wins at Orlando and South Georgia. On top of his two wins, he had several late round appearances at the Baby Gators, Atlanta, and Rockingham. 

Stock Eliminator – Jeff Hairrington 

Jeff Harrington
Jeff Hairrington

Jeff Hairrington earned the Division 2 Stock Eliminator Championship on the strength of two final round appearances. Hairrington finished the season with two LODRS wins and several late round finishes. His 395 points outlasted well-known Stock Eliminator racers Jeff Strickland and Jeff Longhany.

Hairrington’s victories came at Orlando and Charlotte. His late round finishes at South Georgia, Gainesville, and Atlanta helped secure the title.

Super Comp – Ray Miller III

Ray Miller III

After a nearly perfect season which included four LODRS wins, Ray Miller III took home the Division 2 Super Comp Championship with a score of 482. Ray also earned the 2019 NHRA Super Comp World Championship on top of his divisional championship.

Miller nearly ran off with the title early in the season after posting three wins in a row, but not without a fight from well-known .90 racers John Labbous Jr. and Jonathan Anderson. He continued to prove himself after winning his fourth LODRS race of the season. 

Miller’s four LODRS wins came from South Georgia, Gainesville, Atlanta, and Charlotte. He had one late round appearance at Rockingham.

Super Gas – John Labbous Jr.

John Labbous 2019 Jegs Allstars Super Gas Champ
John Labbous Jr.

John Labbous Jr. claimed the Division 2 Super Gas Championship after battling with contenders Ray Miller III and Craig Porter. Labbous finished with two final round appearances and several late-round finishes resulting in 385 points.

By one point, Ray Miller III finished second to Labbous after having a heck of a good season in both of his cars. Craig Porter finished third in the standings.

Labbous’ two LODRS final round appearances resulted in a win at Orlando and a runner-up at Charlotte. Several late-round finishes at Vegas, VMP, and Rockingham helped seal the season title.

Super Street – Jonathan Anderson

Jonathan Anderson

Jonathan Anderson picked up the Division 2 Super Street Championship after finishing the season with a win and a runner-up. Anderson, who finished with 352 points, held off Jimmy Daniel and Kevin White to capture the season title.

Anderson’s divisional win came at Atlanta and his runner-up came at the Baby Gators. Following his two final round appearances, he also had several late-round finishes at Orlando, Topeka, and Rockingham. 

Top Dragster – Jeff Strickland 

Jeff Strickland Top Dragster
Jeff Strickland

Jeff Strickland earned the Division 2 Top Dragster Championship after scoring a total of 387 points with three LODRS wins. Strickland’s season included three final round appearances that all resulted in Wally’s. 

At nearly 140 points ahead of second place, Strickland made it difficult for Mike Gurliaccio and Casey Spradlin to catch him. Gurliaccio and Spradlin tied for second place, and Michael Kalin fell one point behind them to take third place. 

Strickland’s LODRS wins came at Atlanta, Tulsa, and Charlotte. He also had several late round finishes at the Baby Gators and the Topeka Double Divisional that helped him lock up the title.

Top Sportsman – Sandy Wilkins

Sandy Wilkins

2019 NHRA Top Sportsman World Champion Sandy Wilkins also earned the Division 2 Top Sportsman title after winning three times and having several late-round finishes. With three LODRS wins, he finished with 357 points.

Wilkins’ outdistanced second place David Tatum by 87 points. In a close battle for second place, Tatum finished 10 points ahead of third place finisher Derrick Brown. 

Sandy’s three LODRS wins came at Orlando, Reading, and Rockingham. 

Congrats go out to all the NHRA Division 2 Champions on their successful seasons! See you on the racetrack next year!

Megan Strassweg

Megan Bohannon is a 26 year old Super Comp racer from Louisville, Kentucky. She races a 2015 American Dragster with a 648 Oakley Motorsports Engine. Growing up at the racetrack, drag racing is all she has known and never plans to give up on it. Megan works with TB Promotions in promoting their races and keeping entries straight, as well as keeping their social media pages updated.

You can reach Megan on Facebook or email at megan@dragchamp.com

You can reach Megan on Facebook or email at megan@dragchamp.com

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.