Thursday, February 29, 2024

Buckeye Bracket Triple Crown Race Results

Marty McKinney, Niki Thomas, and Mark Cook win big at the Buckeye Bracket Triple Crown Race at National Trails Raceway.

After recently taking on new ownership, the guys at National Trails decided to put on a three-day bracket race. With the not so good weather forecast, they were still able to get the track full of rigs and finish the race as planned.

Box cars raced for $5,000 each day and no-box cars raced for $3,000 each day. On Friday and Saturday, there were shootouts for each class.


On the box side of things, Jack Fisk was victorious taking out Tanner Williams in the final round. 

Michael Ruark was the semi-finalist.

Caleb Ellison

It was Caleb Ellison in no-box taking home the win on Friday. He ran Jason Ford in the final, who turned on the red bulb at the hit.

Steve Collier was the semi-finalist.


Phil Smida was victorious in the box shootout defeating Jason Wheatcraft in the final round.

John Spivey was the semi-finalist.

Dylan Spring took home the win in the no-box shootout defeating Woody Kilgore in the final round.

Brett Randall was the semi-finalist.


Chris Hess was victorious over Marty McKinney in the box final round. Hess defeating Phil Smida in the semifinal round.

Box Final Round

Brian Ciredau won the no-box side over Brett Spring in the final round.

Earl Hall was the semi-finalist.


Box runner-up Marty McKinney tried his luck again in the 64-car shootout and was lucky enough to find the winner’s circle. He defeated Ryan Pinkelman in the final round.

Ryan Dovenbarger and Kenny Branscom were the semi-finalists.

Due to lighting, the 32-car shootout was split after third round. Tyler Edgar, Steve Holman, Ryan Pinkelman, and Ron Baisden split the purse evenly.


Mark Cook was victorious over Jim Soloman in the box final round on Sunday. Local racer Dennis Meade was the semi-finalist.

Niki Thomas won the no-box class over Steve Collier in the final round. Shane Weaver and Shawn Pitts were the semi-finalists.

In the last race of the weekend, Marty McKinney took home the 16-car second chance shootout win over Andrew Waddle in the final round. Alana Haas and Cameron Adkins were the semi-finalists.

Congratulations to all the winners of the weekend!

For more bracket racing news, click here.

Megan Strassweg
Megan Strassweg

Megan Bohannon is a 25 year old Super Comp racer from Louisville, Kentucky. She races a 2015 American Dragster with a 648 Oakley Motorsports Engine. Growing up at the racetrack, drag racing is all she has known and never plans to give up on it. Megan works with TB Promotions in promoting their races and keeping entries straight, as well as keeping their social media pages updated.

You can reach Megan on Facebook or email at megan@dragchamp.com

You can reach Megan on Facebook or email at megan@dragchamp.com

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.