Holton, Snipes, and Rabon Collect Wins at Halloween Horror Nights

Big money bracket racing took center stage during Darlington Dragway’s Halloween Horror Nights. Modified, Top, and Junior Dragster drivers competed for large payouts and IHRA Ironman trophies.

Feature photo credit: J Denise Spink

HARTSVILLE, SC – Halloween Horror Nights at Darlington Dragway was an interesting event that combined big money bracket racing with Pro Modified racing. This race would be the 2020 season finale for the Carolina Xtreme Pro Mod series, but the bracket racers would be the ones battling for the biggest checks.

Friday night would host a 64 Car High Roller Shootout with a $10,000 prize going home with the winner. Saturday’s winners would earn an IHRA Ironman trophy as well as $1,000 in Junior Dragsters, $2,500 in Modified, and $8,000 in Top ET.

halloween horror nights darlington. j denise spink photo
Photo credit: J Denise Spink

Friday 64 Car High Roller Race Results

There were four drivers remaining in fifth round of competition: Michael Morris Jr, Tyler Mosley, Lee Crawford, and Billy Varner III. Crawford would advance over Varner in a double breakout race, while Morris takes the win over Mosley.

In the final round, Lee Crawford leaves .010 too soon to settle for the runner up. Michael Morris was going to be tough to beat as he lets go .001 green and rolls into the winner’s circle with $10K.

64 car high roller winner Michael Morris . j denise spink photo
Michael Morris wins $10K at Halloween Horror Nights Friday
Lee Crawford 64 car high rollers runner up. j denise spink photo
Lee Crawford (right) was the runner up on Friday
Photo credit: J Denise Spink

Halloween Horror Nights Saturday Results

Huddleston Performance Junior Dragster Results

Alyssa Rabon, Stephen Rodgers, and C. Hoyle were the last three junior dragsters left standing Saturday night. Hoyle red lights to advance Rabon while Rodgers takes the bye run into the finals.

With $1,000 on the line, Alyssa Rabon and Stephen Rodgers stage up for the final round. It’s all over at the starting line when Rodgers leaves the red bulb on the tree. Rabon runs 9.066 off her 9.05 dial to pick up the win and an IHRA Ironman.

junior dragster winner Alyssa Rabon
Alyssa Rabon wins the Junior Dragster class Saturday
stephen rodger junior dragster runner up. spoold media photo
Stephen Rodgers is the Junior Dragster runner up
Photo credit: Spoold Media, Corey Stamper

Moroso Modified Results

77 entries made their way down the eighth mile in round one of Modified. After seven rounds of tough competition, only two drivers remained eligible for the $2,500 payday.

In the finals, B. Roberts would turn on the red light while Ryan Snipes leaves .02 green to pick up the win. R. Davis was the lone semifinalist.

modified winner Ryan Snipes
Ryan Snipes wins $2,500 and an Ironman in Modified
B. Roberts is the runner up in Modified
Photo credit: Spoold Media, Corey Stamper

VP Racing Fuels Top ET Results

112 Top ET entries staged up in the first round for their chance at the $8,000 payout. The final three top bulb competitors were Steve Hilburn, David Smith, and Buddy Holton.

Smith is .008 and dead 5 to leave Hilburn’s .020 reaction time mathematically ineligible. Holton takes the solo pass into the final round, courtesy of his previous .006 light.

Buddy Holton lays down 5 total in the finals (.002 and dead-on 3) to earn $8K and his first IHRA Ironman trophy. Smith lets go .017 at the tree and breaks out for the runner up spot.

top et winner Buddy Holton
Buddy Holton wins $8,000 and an Ironman in Top ET
top et runner up David Smith. j denise spink photo
David Smith is the Top ET runner up

Carolina Xtreme Pro Mod Results

Danny Perry earned the win in the Buck Outlaw 800 class on Saturday. Brooke Miller defeated Vince Fourcade in the Hoosier Tire 4.50 Index.

In the Noonan Xtreme Pro Mod class, Rickie Smith took the win over Jamie Chappell. Rickie Smith made the quickest pass of the day during time trials when he lit the scoreboard up with 3.66 at 207 mph.

  • xtreme pro mod winner Rickie Smith
  • Xtreme pro mod runner up Jamie Chappell
  • outlaw 4.50 winner Brooke Miller
  • 4.50 index runner up Vince Fourcade

The next bracket event at Darlington Dragway is the 3rd Annual Gobble Wobble, November 28, 2020.

This is a racer appreciation event with free entry into Top, Modified, and Junior Dragsters. You can find updated information at Darlington Dragway’s Facebook page.

Take a look at the other Halloween weekend events at Atmore Dragway or Texas Motorplex. For the latest in bracket racing news, click here.


Jessica was born into a family of drag racers and fell in love with the sport at a young age. She began competing at 13 and has been hooked ever since! She even met her husband at the World Footbrake Challenge VII. Jessica works full time as an Ultrasound Technologist but spends almost every weekend chasing win lights at IHRA and NHRA bracket races.

You can contact her at Jessica@dragchamp.com or on her Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.