IHRA Summit Super Series Hot Rod Bracket Race at Alamo City Motorplex

Ritter, Dockery, Shimek, Hrometz, and Suckow claim wins at the first Alamo City Motorplex IHRA SSS points race of the season.

MARION, TX- Something old, something new highlights the beginning of the 2021 season at Alamo City Motorplex.

After several successful big shows, including the ‘Battle of the Alamo’ No-Prep event, the Extreme Monster Truck show, Project Torque Truck Shootout, to name a few. This week starts the 2021 bracket race series.

The latest announcement came just this week as ACM again joined up with IHRA sanctioning in a multi-year deal. This marks the return of the IHRA Summit Super Series Bracket races giving drivers points leading up to the Summit Team Finals and Summit Super Series World Finals held at the end of the season.

Results and Photos provided by JM Hallas and Alamo City Raceway.

DragChamp Logo

This Saturday kicked off the IHRA SSS points season with a double points show on the 1/8 mile track just east of San Antonio. Despite the cloudy conditions it was more like an early summer day with air temperatures in mid 80s, although track temps were kept in check by the cloud cover.

It was quite an opening night for the ACM bracket series points chase with over 125 cars signing in for action, one of the largest fields in some time.

Box (Top ET)

After a successful 2020 season and her points championship, Candace Ritter started off 2021 with bang taking home the win over Jaime Longoria Jr. in the Box (Top ET) Finals. Longoria in the Chevy powered S&W Chassis went .001 red handing the victory to C. Ritter in her Simpson Racing Products, Rehrer & Morrison, 2001 Undercover Chassis.

“It was tough for everyone tonight,” said Ritter. “My car usually goes straight and true, but tonight I had to drive it. There were a lot of red lights. I don’t know how many (wins) I had from them, it seemed like a lot (4 wins by red light).

On her way to the finals C. Ritter took out J. Nobles, Mike Pearson, Jeremy Wenske, Kip Scharf and got a round 6 bye. Longoria bested Jerry Longoria, D. Decker, Kip Scharf, Shawn Neidig, Cole Herbold and Scott Ball in semis.

Candace Ritter

No Box (Mod ET)

The No-Box finals had a couple San Antonio guys make it to the finals, Wendell Dockery and Mike Montoya. Dockery, in his D&E Glass Company, 69 Camaro got a huge advantage on the starting line to get the win over M. Montoya in his 70 Dodge Challenger.

Wendell Dockery(6.77) 6.814 @ 101.28 defeats Mike Montoya(6.63) 6.650 @ 102.95

Dockery trailered David Bixler, Joe Menke, D. Casey, Gabriel Hernandez and Schneider. M. Montoya lost in round 1 to J. Connealy, bought back and got past Hunter Herbold, Matt McInnis, Mike Zampese, Lee Miller and Tim Ray.

Wendell Dockery, Mod ET Winner


A long time ACM racer “Weird” Harold Shimek scored the victory in Sportsman in a close race over Ronald Gordner. Shimek got 1/100th off the line in his Camaro and beat R. Gordner’s 2015 Dodge Challenger Scat-Pak by another 1/100th at the stripe.

Harold Shimek (7.50) 7.560 @ 85.96 defeats Ronald Gordner (7.85) 7.924 @ 88.11

Shimek got around Rhett Floyd, T. Johnson, John Villeneuva and had a round 4 bye. R. Gordner beat B. Gordner(twice), Daniel Cleveland and had a round 5 bye.

“Weird” Harold Shimek Sportsman Winner


Two Hayabusas faced off in the Motorcycle finals with Don Hrometz going at it against Casey Baugh in the Baughs Out Racing bike. Baugh tried to trim the tree but went .008 red giving the win to Hrometz at the start.

Don Hrometz (5.88) 5.905 @ 117.89 defeats Casey Baugh (6.25) 6.277 @ 111.22

Hrometz put out James Marlett, and Whitworth plus a round 2 bye. Baugh had a bye in the semi’s and got by James Monaco and W. Keele.

Don Hrometz, Motorcycle Winner

Junior Dragster

A field of 20 Jr. Dragsters got whittled down to the finals for a rematch between Jordan Suckow and Tyler Janousek. Janousek went .012 red giving the win to Suckow in his 2018 Jr.Racecar in a ‘what coulda been’ race as Suckow ran it through and broke out.

Jordan Suckow (7.95) 7.943 @ 81.24 defeats Tyler Janousek (8.99) 9.222 @ 66.13

Suckow defeated H. Pavlock, C. Nelson, and Janousek in round 1 with a round 3 bye. Janousek rebought after losing round 1 to Suckow then beat C. Garceau, S. Rufenacht, R. Picha and A. Rogers.

Jordan Suckow, Junior Dragster Winner
Tyler Janousek, Junior Dragster Runner-up

Congrats to all winners and finalists from the first Alamo City Motorplex points race.

For more big money bracket racing news from DragChamp, click here

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.