Calhoun Nearly Perfect in Top Victory at IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Calhoun, Mattera, Tanner, and Curtis claim wins at the IHRA Sportsman Spectacular at Maryland International Raceway.

MECHANICSVILLE, MD — Ben Calhoun had a near perfect performance to take the Top prize at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Sportsman Spectacular presented by Hagerty and Moser Engineering at Maryland International Raceway.

Full write-up and photos provided by IHRA


The Gainesville, Virginia driver posted a perfect light in the Top (Box) final and barely missed on a perfect run. His dragster roared down the track in 4.438 seconds at 156.06 mph against a 4.44 dial-in.  Runner-up Steve Mikus had a terrific run in his Chevy Nova with a 5.714-second pass at 120.23 mph on a 5.71 dial-in. It was all for naught after Milkus was .006 too quick at the start.

Ben Calhoun, Top ET Winner


The legendary Mattera family, members of the Maryland International Raceway Hall of Fame, added to their legacy in Mod (No Box) eliminations. An all-Mattera final pitted Bobby against Tony. Bobby Mattera emerged victorious, matching his 5.67 dial-in at 118.70 mph after a .051 reaction time. Tony was slightly quicker at the start, but barely missed with a 6.677 elapsed time at 98.36 mph against a 6.66 dial-in.

Bobby Mattera, MOD ET Winner

Junior Dragster

Nathan Tanner had the quick start to win the Junior Dragster title over Zach Parlett. Tanner zipped down the track in 8.027 seconds (79.65 mph) on an 8.01 dial-in. Parlett was closer to his dial-in with an 8.048 (81.55 mph) against an 8.04, but Tanner’s quicker reaction time .023 to .043 proved to be the difference.

IHRA Sportsman Spectacular
Nathan Tanner, Junior Dragster Winner

Rain forced the end of Sunday action before eliminations could be completed.

Drivers collected round prizes on both days thanks to the IHRA’s valued partners. Saturday round 1 prizes included a $100 Moser certificate to Joe Martin and $50 Summit gift cards to Justin Hackley and Jessi Tayman.

Billy Thomas got the $100 Moser certificate in round 2 with A.J. Jenkins receiving a $200 certificate from American Race Cars and Austin Keys awarded a $100 Summit gift card. For round 3, Andy Lloyd was the recipient of a $200 Jones Transmission certificate. Robert Estevez got a $200 Moser certificate and Hunter Groat received a $100 Summit gift card.

Cory Dorsey, Cameron Gibson and Sophia Curtis all received $50 Summit cards after Sunday’s round 1. Curtis was also the winner of a Junior Dragster race for beginners on Saturday.

IHRA Sportsman Spectacular
Sophia Curtis, Beginner Junior Dragster Winner

Buddy McGowan and Damon Waters were awarded $100 Summit cards after round 2 on Sunday. Chad Burch received a $200 Moser certificate as did Steven Truitt after round 3. Junior racer Gage Willingham completed the list of round prize winners with a $100 Summit gift card.

More trophies and round prizes will be at stake Sept. 11-12 when the IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented by Hagerty and Moser Engineering heads to Farmington (N.C.) Dragway.

For more IHRA news from DragChamp, click here.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.