Eddyville Raceway Park Earns IHRA Midwest Summit Team Finals Three-Peat

Eddyville Raceway Park earned its third consecutive International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Midwest Summit Team Finals championship on Saturday.

Write-up/pictures provided by IHRA.

OSKALOOSA, IA- Hosting the event for a third straight year, Eddyville Raceway Park again protected the home turf with 55-48 win over Thunder Valley Dragways. Onawa Dragway finished third with 40 points. Teams from Wisconsin International Raceway, Cordova International Raceway, Mo-Kan Dragway and Central Illinois Dragway also competed.

Eddyille Raceway Park, Team Champions

The individual champions had plenty to celebrate. 

Gary Siedschlag earned his third trip to the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals. Zach Livingston repeated as Mod champion, while Jimmy Barrett followed up his Sportsman track championship at Central Illinois with the Midwest Team Finals win. Carter Brand also doubled up as the Junior Dragster track champion at Eddyville. 

Top ET

Gary Siedschlag from Fond Du Lac, Wisc., qualified for the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals time with his 4.993-second pass against a 4.98 dial-in, along with a .017 reaction time. Runner-up Tucker Kanselaar from Colfax, Iowa was close behind going 4.614 seconds on a 4.60 dial-in with a .022 reaction time. 

Gary Siedschlag, Top ET Champion

Mod ET

Zach Livingston from Norwalk, Iowa won his second consecutive Midwest title pairing a 5.50 run on a 5.51 dial-in with a .023 reaction time to best runner-up Jeremy Bousman from Camanche, Iowa who ran 5.85 on a 5.84 dial-in with a .033 reaction time.

IHRA Midwest Team Finals
Zach Livingston, Mod ET Champion


Jimmie Barrett from Havana, Ill., won on a holeshot with a .022 reaction time paired with a 7.735 seconds on a 7.74 dial-in. Terry Vanderzanden from Plattsmouth, Neb., had a .063 reaction time and ran 7.714 on a 7.73 dial-in.

IHRA Midwest Team Finals
Jimmie Barrett, Sportsman Champion

Junior Dragster

Carter Brand from Lynnville, Iowa captured the Junior Dragster win going down the strip in 8.992 seconds on an 8.90 dial-in with a .051 start. Jack Beutler from Watertown, S.D., posted a 7.98-second run on a 7.999 dial-in with a .064 reaction time. 

IHRA Midwest Team Finals
Carter Brand, Junior Dragster Champion

Friday’s Gambler’s Race:

Top — Tucker Kanselaar 4.59 on a 4.58 dial-in, .010 reaction time defeated Jerry McGraw 4.44 on a 4.42 dial-in, -.011 reaction time.

Mod — Bobby Ince Jr. 6.03 on a 6.00 dial-in, .016 reaction time defeated Shane Boney 6.30 on a 6.27 dial-in, .017 reaction time.

Junior — Eric Hansen Jr. 7.50 on a 7.50 dial-in, -.022 reaction time defeated William Balser 7.90 on a 7.90 dial-in, -.012 reaction time.

IHRA Midwest Team Finals

Team Captains Race:

Cordova International Raceway 10.54 on a 10.49 dial-in, .053 reaction times defeated Central Illinois Dragway 10.26 on a 10.27 dial-in, .220 reaction time

Special Awards:

Best Appearing Open Bodied Car — Matt Schaeffer, Onawa Dragway

Best Appearing Full Bodied Car — Steve Olm, Wisconsin International Raceway

Best Appearing Junior Dragster — Kyla Feit, Wisconsin International Raceway

Best Team Spirit — Thunder Valley Dragway

Best Appearing Grandstands — Cordova International Raceway

Best Appearing Team — Mo-Kan Dragway

Midwest Track of the Year — Onawa Dragway

Team standings

  1. Eddyville Raceway Park           55
  2. Thunder Valley Dragway          48
  3. Onawa Dragway                        40
  4. Wisconsin Int’l Raceway           37
  5. Cordova Int’l Raceway             34
  6. Mo-Kan Dragway                      29
  7. Central Illinois Dragway          10

For more IHRA news from DragChamp, click here.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.