Junior Racers Show Out at Western Conference Finals

Teel, Elliott, Wied, Salter, Foster, Sexton, Craft, and Chesleigh earn top honors at the 2021 Western Conference Finals.

TULSA, OK- The NHRA Jr. Drag Racing Western Conference Finals took place June 21-25, 2021 at Osage Tulsa Raceway Park. The WCF is one of two national events for the NHRA Jr. Drag Racing league. The second will be the Eastern Conference Finals held July 15-17, 2021 at Bristol Dragway.

The week long event featured Index classes, Gamblers Races, Fun Race, and the Teel Memorial Race. Towards the end of the week, racers battle it out to find out who will be crowned champions in their respective age groups.

There is also a team championship where teams from various racetracks compete for the most points based on wins throughout the week. The host track, Osage Tulsa Raceway Park Team 2 took home the win with 29 points overall.

DragChamp Logo

Monday Index Results

13.90 Index
Ryker Flowers def. Maxtyn Pavlock

11.90 Index
Carson Wied def. Revin Mosley

8.90 Index
Carter Poplawski def. Addysan Rogers

7.90 Index
Kyle Miller def. Aspen Meagher

Tuesday Racing Results

7.90/8.90 Index Gamblers
Camron Nelson def. Emma Wyman

11.90/13.90 Index Gamblers
Carson Wied def. Bailey Benda

Big Money
Trent Augustyn def. Graeme Rufenacht

Little Money
Parker Freeman def. Tyler Wied

Wednesday Fun Race & Teel Memorial

Fun Race
Gage Wilson def. Wyatt Palmatier

Teel Memorial Race 6-9
Revin Mosley def. Dawson Rogers

Teel Memorial Race 10-12
Race Ragland def. Addysan Rogers

Teel Memorial Race 13-17
Aaron Reynolds def. Carson Russell

6-9 year-old Class

After coming off of last year’s runner-up, Camden Teel defeated Revin Mosely in the 6-9 year old class. Mosely left the starting line too early resulting in an automatic win to Teel.

10-year-old Class

Emma Elliot was the 10-year-old class champion. In the final, Elliot had the starting line advantage with a .030 reaction time to the 2020 champion, Jenna Chesleigh’s .051. Elliot took the stripe by .007 seconds for the win.

Western Conference Finals
Emma Elliot, 10 Year Old Champion

11-year-old Class

Tyler Wied picked up the 11-year-old class win over Logan Atkins. In the final, Wied was .021 and ran a 8.919 on a. 8.90 dial-in over Atkins’ .055 and 8.947 on a 8.90.

Western Conference Finals
Tyler Wied, 11 Year Old Champion

12-year-old Class

Kayden Salter was the 12-year-old Champion. In the final, Colby Wattenbarger turned it an unfortunate -.001 on the starting line giving the automatic win to Salter. Salter was a near perfect .001.

13-year-old Class

Cole Foster claimed the 13-year-old class win over Eli Hager. Hager was .010 up front and ran too fast breaking out with a 7.76 on 7.93 dial-in. Foster turned the win light on by running a 7.97 on a 7.90.

Western Conference Finals
Cole Foster, 13 Year Old Champion

14-year-old Class

Jada Sexton picked up the 14-year-old class win over Connor Elliot. In the final, Elliot turned it red illuminating Sexton’s win light.

15-year-old Class

William Craft from Division 2 was .001 and ran a 8.021 on a 8.00 dial-in to defeat the former WCF champ, Jonathan McClain.

Western Conference Finals
William Craft, 15 Year Old Champion

16-17 year-old Class

Braiden Chesleigh drove his junior dragster to victory over Hayden Trumble. In the final, Chesleigh had the reaction time advantage ran a 8.325 on a. 8.16 dial-in to pick up the final round win.

Western Conference Finals
Braiden Chesleigh, 16-17 Year Old Champion

Team Championship Top 5

  1. Osage Tulsa Raceway Park Team 2 (29 points)
  2. Houston Raceway Park Team 1 (28 points)
  3. Ardmore Dragway (24 points)
  4. Houston Raceway Park Team 2 (23 points)
  5. Mid-America Dragway Team 1 (21 points)

Special Awards

  • Team Spirit– Tulsa Raceway Park
  • Best Appearing Track– Mid-America Dragway
  • Best Appearing Car– Brylea Tilson
  • Best Engineered Car– Adalynn Atkinson
  • Best Reaction Time: Haven Moberly (age 6-9), Kenzie Wells (10), Taylor Freeman (11), Colby Wattenbarger (12), Stephen Skelton (13), Conner Elliott (14), Ryker Cromwell (15), Trent Augustyn (16-17)
  • Drivers earning the Closest to Dial: Camden McDonald (6-9), Jenna Chesleigh (10), Noah Peyton (11), Mason Acosta (12), Alex Karst (13), Emma Wyman (14), Rylie Trumble (15), and Dylan Moody (16-17)

Congratulations to all winners and finalists from the NHRA Western Conference Finals. The NHRA Eastern Conference Finals will take place July 15-17, 2021 at Bristol Dragway.

For more Junior Dragster news from Dragchamp click here.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.