Winners Crowned at PDRA East Coast Nationals at Galot

Steve Drongowski & Steve Furr rose to the top of the leaderboard at the PDRA East Coast Nationals at Galot with their wins in Elite Top Sportsman & Elite Top Dragster, respectively.

BENSON, NC – PDRA invaded Galot Motorsports Park for the East Coast Nationals to kick off their 2022 season. Several winners visited the winners circle to start off their year on the right foot.

DragChamp Logo

Steve Drongowski (Elite TS) and Steve Furr (Elite TD) led the leader board with both their wins. Read the race recap below to meet the winners & see their finals rounds!

PDRA East Coast Nationals

Elite Top Sportsman

Steve Drongowski defeated Chris Nyerges in the final round to take home the Elite Top Sportsman trophy. Nyerges had the starting line advantage, .006 to .017, but ran into some issues down-track handing the win over to Drongowski who ran a 3.967 on his 3.89 dial-in.

Tim Molnar and Henry Underwood were the semi-finalists.

Top Sportsman

Doug Crumlich defeated Nik Meloni in the Top Sportsman final round. Meloni lit the red bulb by -.002, handing the win over to Crumlich. Crumlich was .005 and ran a 4.259 at 166 mph on his 4.25 dial-in.

Joe Roubicek and Freddy Perkins III were the semi-finalists.

Elite Top Dragster

Steve Furr was victorious over Matt Cooke in the final round to pick up the Elite TD Trophy. Furr had the starting line advantage, .010 to .020, and ran a 3.786 on his 3.77 dial-in to get to the stripe first.

Freddy Perkins and Russ Whitlock were the semi-finalists.

Top Dragster

Tisha Wilson picked up the Top Dragster trophy after defeating Nick Meloni in the final round. Tisha had a huge starting line advantage, .014 to .087, and got to the stripe first running a 4.434 a 151 mph on her 4.40 dial-in.

Chaz Silance was the semi-finalist.

Bracket Bash

Nathan Tanner defeated Cody Strickland to take home the trophy in Bracket Bash. Tanner was .007 total – making Strickland mathematically ineligible. Tanner was .002 and ran a 6.885 at 96 mph on his 6.88 dial-in.

Gabe Taylor and Michael Jackson were the semi-finalists.

Pro Jr. Dragster

Bladen Core was victorious over Justin Kirby in the Pro Jr. Dragster final round to take home the trophy. Core had the starting line advantage, .041 to .052, and ran closer to the 7.90 index.

Camdyn Smith and Nyck Shirkey were the semi-finalists.

Top Jr. Dragster

Carter Jackson defeated Reese Corker in the final round to take home the Top Jr. Dragster trophy. Corker turned on the red bulb by -.050 to hand the win over to Jackson, who was .038 and ran a 8.971 on his 8.90 dial-in.

Wyatt Stanley and Spencer McGee were the semi-finalists.

Megan Strassweg

Megan Strassweg is a 24 year old Super Comp racer from Louisville, Kentucky. She races a 2015 American Dragster with a 648 Oakley Motorsports Engine. Growing up at the racetrack, drag racing is all she has known and never plans to give up on it. Megan works with TB Promotions in promoting their races and keeping entries straight, as well as keeping their social media pages updated.

You can reach Megan on Facebook or email at megan@dragchamp.com

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.