Friday, May 24, 2024

2022 DragChamp 6-9 Jr. Racer of the Year

Carson Wied wins the 2022 DragChamp 6-9 Jr. Racer of the Year title presented by Laris Motorsports Insurance after winning 22 times on the season

12/14/22 – Welcome to the 2022 DragChamp 6-9 Jr. Racer of the Year Top 10 List presented by Laris Motorsports Insurance. This week we rank the best 6-9 year old racers in the country and crown the 2022 6-9 Jr. Racer of the Year!

Cover photo by Midwest Jr. Super Series

Racecar insurance is more affordable than you think! Laris Motorsports Insurance policies are handled in house so they can provide quotes within minutes and they offer the broadest coverage available. Call Carie Lehrke at (402) 639-8700 today to learn how Laris Motorsports Insurance can protect your racing operation both on and off the track! If you’re a business owner, Laris also offers commercial insurance. Protect your business with a trusted name.

Click here to view previous Top 10 Lists.

DragChamp Top 10 List Logo

DragChamp Jr. Racer Top 10 List

1 – Carson Wied

Carson Wied wins 22 times in 27 finals to claim the DragChamp 6-9 Jr. Racer of the Year title! Wied, who finished 3rd in last year’s 6-9 rankings, dominated the class this season to earn the Racer of the Year title. Highlights of his 2022 season include two Midwest Jr. Super Series championships, undefeated in MJSS 11.90 Index races, last 6-9 standing in every MJSS Pro Sportsman race, and 9 times during the season he was the last 6-9 racer standing. Also at the two $10K races Carson attended, he ran himself in both of the 6-9 finals. Congrats on another tremendous season!

2 – Kylie Mocny

Kylie Mocny continues to shine on the DragChamp Top 10 List. She earned the #2 spot on the year end list after winning 17 wins in 25 finals this season. She finished the season with 5 Wally’s, the Bradenton track championship, and a runner-up at the Eastern Conference Finals. Look for great things from Kylie in the years to come.

3 – Ethan Russell

Ethan Russell lands in the #3 spot after posting 10 wins in 16 finals this season. Russell earned the US 131 beginner track championship, finished 2nd at Milan Dragway, was the IHRA Division 5 6-9 champion, and won three times in one weekend at US 131 earlier this season.

4 – Zandir Cook

Zandir Cook lands in the four spot after posting nine wins in 11 finals. Cook won the NHRA Division 2 6-9 Race of Champions, finished second in points at South Georgia and Gainesville, and made the quarterfinals at the ECF.

5 – Waylon Bennett

Waylon Bennett grabs the #5 spot after winning 8 times in 11 finals. Bennett made the finals in almost half the races he attended this season in addition to winning the NHRA D2 championship. He won the Mike Bos 6-12 Fun Race at the ECF, collected 5 Wally’s on the season, and finished 3rd in points in the Division 2 National Open series.

6 – Evan Bryning

Evan Bryning parked his “Bandit” themed Jr. in the winners circle 8 times this year while adding 2 runner-up finishes. Bryning won the Eastern Conference Finals and made it to the semifinals at the WCF. He doubled up in the Gamblers races at the NHRA D4 Jr. ET Finals and won the Las Vegas Nationals 11.90 class.

7 – Rydin Cook

Rydin Cook lands in the #7 spot after winning 6 times in 12 finals. Cook joined his brother on the list after both enjoyed tremendous success this season.

8 – Dawson “D-Pain” Rogers

D-Pain grabs the #8 spot after winning 6 times in 10 finals this season. The 7.90 killer won the NHRA Division 4 Jr. ET Finals for the second time in three seasons! Dawson competed in 26 races across 9 states spanning from Bristol to Las Vegas.

9 – Hutch Harger

photo by Cole Thomas

Hutch Harger had an impressive first year of Jr. racing posting 5 wins in 10 finals. His most recent victory came in the $5,000 Team race at the BMP Thanksgiving Jr. Nationals where his team took first place. Hutch also made both 6-9 finals at the I-30 Dragway twin $10K’s in September where he won on Sunday and ended up losing at 3 cars.

9 – Jesse Varner

The Varner family is well known for winning races and young Jesse is continuing that tradition. Jesse secured his Top 10 spot after winning 5 times in 8 finals. He won the NHRA Division 2 Bracket Finals and the ECF 6-12 Fun Race. Varner also scored a runner-up in the 6-9 Fun Race at the ECF.

10 – Gavin “G-Wagon” Fojt

G-Wagon produced another great season after winning 5 times in 7 finals. Gavin qualified for two NHRA National Event races and won the Dallas Fallnationals race. He snagged wins at both the NHRA and IHRA Division 4 Jr. ET Finals and secured the 6-9 SouthWest Jr. Dragster Series championship for the 3rd time.

10 – Landon Bailey

Landon Bailey closes out the 6-9 Top 10 List with a 5 win season in 7 final round appearances. Bailey won the Bristol DER 6-9 championship for the second consecutive season and was the NHRA Division 2 Race of Champions runner-up.

DragChamp Logo

Let us what you think about the DragChamp Jr. Top 10 List. We want to hear from you. Check us out on Facebook and share it with your friends.

And remember, look for our DragChamp Jr. Top 10 List nominations Facebook post every Monday evening. You can nominate your favorites in the comments of the post for consideration on the list.

If you nominate a racer, please include their name, their accomplishment, which track(s), and a winners circle photo. Some racers have missed the list because we didn’t have enough information and couldn’t find anything online.

DragChamp is your online source for sportsman drag race results, news, and updates.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.