Monday, April 15, 2024

2022 DragChamp TD / TS Racer of the Year

Lance Abbott wins four times in six finals to earn the 2022 DragChamp TD / TS Racer of the Year title presented by Laris Motorsports Insurance

12/21/22 – Welcome to the 2022 DragChamp Top Dragster / Top Sportsman Racer of the Year Top 10 List presented by Laris Motorsports Insurance. We ranked the best TD / TS racers of the year from the NHRA and PDRA to complete the Top 10 List. Read below to see which racers made the biggest impact over the 2022 season.

Racecar insurance is more affordable than you think! Laris Motorsports Insurance policies are handled in house so they can provide quotes within minutes and they offer the broadest coverage available. Call Carie Lehrke at (402) 639-8700 today and tell her DragChamp sent you to learn how Laris Motorsports Insurance can protect your racing operation both on and off the track! If you’re a business owner, Laris also offers commercial insurance. Protect your business with a trusted name.

Want to check out previous Top 10 Lists, click here.

DragChamp Top 10 List Logo

DragChamp Top 10 List

1 – Lance Abbott

Lance Abbot wins four times in six finals on the NHRA Top Sportsman tour to earn the DragChamp TD / TS Racer of the year title. Abbott kicked off the 2022 season with back-to-back wins at the Division 4 LODRS doubleheader in Dallas. He followed with a runner-up in Tulsa and then just missed a second double up when he posted a win and a semifinal finish at the Topeka doubleheader. Abbott closed the season with a runner-up at the Vegas divisional and a win at the season ending World Finals in Pomona. His impressive season resulted in a Division 4 championship in addition to his first NHRA Top Sportsman World Championship.

2 – Jeremy Hancock

jeremy hancock

Jeremy Hancock also kicked off the season in a big way earning wins at his first two events which catapulted him to his first NHRA Top Dragster World title. On the season, Hancock won four times in five final round appearances which was also more than enough to win the Division 2 LODRS championship.

3 – Nick Meloni

Nick Meloni has been a rock star on the PDRA circuit over the last couple of seasons and 2022 didn’t disappoint. Meloni raced to a second place finish in Top Sportsman and a third place finish in Top Dragster to earn the #3 spot on our season ending Top 10 list.

4 – Tisha Wilson

Tisha Wilson grabs the #4 spot after capturing her first PDRA Top Dragster championship.

5 – Joe Roubicek

NHRA West Coast Top Sportsman standout Joe Roubicek moved East in order to race on a more regular basis and it proved to be a great decision. Roubicek won the PDRA Top Sportsman World Championship this season in his beautiful Camaro.

6 – Vince Hoda

vince hoda

Vince Hoda put together one hell of a season with his Top Sportsman Camaro although he came up one round short of the national championship. Hoda won three times in four finals on the year which included a NHRA U.S. Nationals victory. The 2021 Division 4 champ finished second to Lance Abbott both nationally and in the Division 4 standings this season.

7 – Al Kenny

Al Kenny won four times in five finals during his 2022 campaign which earned him a second place finish nationally and a 2nd place finish in the Division 1 standings. Kenny won two times on the national event tour collecting Wally’s at Norwalk and at the season ending World Finals in Pomona.

8 – Aaron Stanfield

Photo by Mike Corn

Aaron Stanfield continues to post Top 10 finishes year after year in his Top Dragster. Although he primarily focuses on Pro Stock and Factory Stock Showdown, Stanfield stays very competitive in the fast dragster class. In 2022, Aaron won the Division 4 championship, finished third nationally, and posted two wins along with 2 semifinal finishes, and 5 quarterfinal finishes.

9 – Ed Olpin

ed olpin
Photo by Bob Johnson

Perennial Top 10 racer Ed Olpin posted another strong finish in 2022 after finishing 3rd nationally. Olpin posted two wins and four semifinal showings to lock down another Top 10 finish nationally.

10 – Zach Sackman

Zach Sackman closes out the TD / TS Top 10 List after winning three times in four finals this season. In addition to his Top 5 finish nationally, Sackman also won the NHRA Division 3 Top Dragster championship.

Let us know what you think about the DragChamp Top 10 List. We want to hear from you. Check us out on Facebook and share it with your friends.

DragChamp Logo

And remember, look for our DragChamp Top 10 List nominations Facebook post every Monday evening. You can nominate your favorites in the comments of the post for consideration on the list.

DragChamp is your online source for sportsman drag race results, news, and updates.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.