Monday, July 22, 2024

Midwest Super Comp Series Honors Top of Class at Awards Banquet and Makes Big Announcements for 2024

Photos from Jay’s Racing Photos

December 1, 2023 (Kenosha, WI) – The Midwest Super Comp Series recently gathered for their 36th annual awards banquet, celebrating the accomplishments of the 2023 season. Racers were not only recognized for their achievements but were also treated to a surprise announcement about a major points fund for the upcoming 2024 season.

DragChamp Logo

The festivities, themed “dress-to-impress,” unfolded spectacularly at the Radisson Hotel and Conference Center Rockford in Rockford, Illinois.

Tony Pontillo of Kenosha, Wisconsin, with six race wins in seven final round appearances, was honored as the series champion. This marked Pontillo’s first Midwest Super Comp Series title, placing him among the distinguished list of champions in the series’ 36-year history.

Pontillo shared the spotlight with fellow top 10 drivers, listed in order of points finish: Jim Glosson, Chad Lamont, Jimmy Glosson, Mark Meier, David Kovar Jr., Chuck Graves, Larry Wasielewski, Pat Lamont, and Karla Pontillo.

Additionally, numerous special awards were presented. Tenuta’s Deli of Kenosha, Wisconsin, received the Sponsor of the Year award for generously sponsoring a #1 Qualifier bonus at all Midwest Super Comp Series races in 2023 and continuing the program in 2024.

Karla Pontillo received two special awards for Crew Person of the Year and Best Appearing Car. She not only secured tenth place in the championship standings but also played a pivotal role in her husband Tony’s championship win. Moreover, she generously gifted her NHRA Best Appearing Car Wally from the NHRA 4-Wide Nationals in Las Vegas to the talented father-and-son duo, David Kovar Sr. and David Kovar Jr. of Paint by the Fonz & Son, during the Best Appearing Car award ceremony.

Marty Brown, recognized for his constant support within the racing community, was voted as the Sports Person of the Year. Brown’s willingness to assist fellow racers and the series itself made him a deserving recipient of this honor.

Jimmy Glosson, displaying exceptional performance with his first race win at Great Lakes Dragway and a commendable fourth-place finish in the points championship, was awarded Rookie of the Year, signaling a promising future for the young driver.

Chuck Graves, returning from a multi-year hiatus, presented the “Hard Luck Award” to Billy Baer of Team Baer. The award is symbolized by a plaque mounted piston, attached to a mangled connecting rod. Baer remains optimistic for a change of fortune in 2024.

The awards ceremony concluded with a final major announcement: Don’s Auto Parts & Machine Shop in Kenosha, Wisconsin, will sponsor a significant points fund of $12,625.00 for the 2024 season. This fund will be distributed among the Top 10 points finishers.

The breakdown of the prize fund is as follows:

  • Champion: $3,000 + Gold Card valued at $1,750.00 (14 MWSC Race Entries)
  • Runner-Up: $2,000 + Silver Card valued at $875.00 (7 MWSC Race Entries)
  • 3rd Place: $1,000
  • 4th Place: $850
  • 5th Place: $800
  • 6th Place: $650
  • 7th Place: $600
  • 8th Place: $500
  • 9th Place: $300
  • 10th Place: $300

The evening was emceed by Randy Simpson and concluded with enthusiastic guests dancing to live country music performed by The Smokin’ Gunz, a popular four-piece band from the greater Chicagoland area.

Complete List of Award Winners

Top 10 Point Standings

Champion:         Tony Pontillo

Runner-Up:        Jim Glosson

3rd Place:           Chad Lamont

4th Place:           Jimmy Glosson

5th Place:           Mark Meier

6th Place:           David Kovar Jr.

7th Place:           Chuck Graves

8th Place:           Larry Wasielewski

9th Place:           Pat Lamont

10th Place:         Karla Pontillo

2023 Special Awards:

Sponsor of the Year:                    Tenuta’s Deli

Crew Person of the Year:            Karla Pontillo

Sports Person of the Year:          Marty Brown

Best Appearing Car:                      Karla Pontillo

Rookie of the Year:                       Jimmy Glosson

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.