Monday, April 15, 2024

Music City Raceway Strings Together Winning Tune at IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals

Music City Raceway claimed the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 2 (Heat Wave) Summit Team Finals championship.

The following is as written on the IHRA website.

HOLLY SPRINGS, MS — Music City Raceway enjoyed the sweet sound of victory Saturday at the IHRA Division 2 (Heat Wave) Summit Team Finals at Holly Springs Motorsports Park.

DragChamp Logo

The Nashville-area track had four racers reach the final round to take the win over the home team from Holly Springs.

London Dragway finished third, followed by Beacon Dragway and Ethridge Motorsports Park. Sixth through 11th included: Gleason Raceway Park, Centerville Dragway, Jeffers Motorsports Park, Ozark Raceway Park, Newport Raceway and State Capitol Raceway.

Top (Box)

Steven Bryant, representing Holly Springs, won the Top (Box) individual title with a 6.050-second pass at 112.98 mph on a 6.04 dial-in. He got off the starting line at .109. David Pugh from Music City broke out at 5.936 seconds and 114.16 mph against a 5.94 dial-in.

Mod (No Box)

A pair of drivers who won Gamblers races earlier in the weekend met in the Mod (No Box) final. Wesley Lockhart from Beacon Dragway pulled off the victory by going down the track in 5.948 seconds at 112.22 mph against a 5.94 dial-in. Tommy Jackson from Holly Springs was runner-up at 8.277 seconds and 79.60 against an 8.24 dial-in despite having a better start.


Jordan Johnson from Music City matched his dial-in with a 7.765-second pass at 85.60 mph along with a .324 reaction time. Kenton Overstreet from Beacon had a final-round effort of 7.703 seconds at 87.23 mph against 7.68 dial-in with a .492 reaction time.

Division 2 Summit Team Finals
Division 2 Summit Team Finals


Music City had both Motorcycle finalists with Kane Austin beating Brandon Frame in the championship round. Austin won on a holeshot .096 to .384. Austin finished in 5.893 seconds at 113.69 mph against a dial-in, while Frame was better on his 6.15 dial-in with a 6.156-second run at 110.48 mph.

Division 2 Summit Team Finals

Junior Dragster

London Dragway was home track for both Junior Dragster finalists. Kellmen Haidinger had a tremendous .003 reaction time to beat Brenden Paynter on a holeshot. Haidinger added an impressive run of 8.229 seconds at 76.79 mph against an 8.22 dial-in. Paynter finished in 7.893 seconds at 80.86 mph against a 7.90 dial-in.

Division 2 Summit Team Finals
Division 2 Summit Team Finals

Check out IHRA.com also for upcoming stories about the IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals Gamblers races and special awards winners. IHRA Division 1 and Division 4 Summit Team Finals are scheduled next weekend at Elk Creek Dragway in Virginia and Xtreme Raceway Park in Texas.  

Click here for more IHRA news from DragChamp.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.