Monday, December 4, 2023

US41 Dragstrip Races to IHRA Division 5 (Thunder) Summit Team Finals Title; Five Tracks Represented by Individual Champions

US41 Dragstrip powered down the home track to win the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 5 (Thunder) Summit Team Finals championship.

The following is as written on the IHRA website.

MOROCCO, IN- It was an enthusiastic effort with US41 Dragstrip excited to play host to the Summit Team Finals for the first time and Allstar Performance serving as a race sponsor. Bunker Hill Dragstrip was runner-up, while Wisconsin International Raceway, Central Illinois Dragway, Great Lakes Dragaway and I57 Dragstrip finished third through fifth. Five individual winners qualified for the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals.

DragChamp Logo

Top (Box)

Dax Darnell from I57 Dragstrip used a .005 start to win the Top (Box) final against Brett Williamson, who posted a .027 reaction time. Darnell was spot-on with a 6.361-second run at 107.32 mph against a 6.36 dial in. Williamson, representing Great Lakes Dragaway, raced down the track in 5.796 seconds at 118.08 mph.

Mod (No Box)

Tim Flynn from US41 Dragstrip was quicker than final-round opponent Jimmie Barrett from Central Illinois Dragway at the start in the Mod (No Box) final. Flynn went down the drag strip in 6.365 seconds at 99.08 mph against a 6.34 dial-in after a .014 to .040 advantage at the tree. Barrett finished in 7.612 seconds at 88.50 mph against a 7.59 dial-in.


Great Lakes Dragaway racer Dave Bierer was the Sportsman winner when final-round opponent Adam Woodmancy from Central Illinois fouled at the start by just -.006 seconds. Bierer’s time was 7.462 seconds at 90.49 mph with a .072 reaction time. Woodmancy posted a 7.554-second elapsed time at 91.22 mph.


The Motorcycle class saw Brett Engel from Bunker Hill Dragstrip post a winning package of 5.032 seconds at 139.45 mph against a 5.02 dial-in, paired with a .014 start. Tim Foster from US 41 Dragway was closer to matching his 5.45 dial-in with a 5.459-second pass at 126.40 mph, but came up a little short despite a solid .033 start.

Junior Dragster

In an extremely close Junior Dragster final, a quick reaction time by Jersey Pautz from Wisconsin International Raceway was needed as Hayley Becker from US41 Dragstrip was right on her dial-in time. Pautz from US 41 Dragway left the line .016 seconds and then had an 8.347-second elapsed time at 75.77 mph against an 8.31 dial-in. Becker matched her 8.90 dial-in at 73.30 mph, but wasn’t as quick at the start with a .060 reaction time.

Special thanks to Allstar Performance for their sponsorship of the races. Congratulations to US41 Dragstrip and all the IHRA Division 5 Summit Team Finals individual winners.

Click here for more IHRA news from DragChamp.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.