Friday, May 24, 2024

Xtreme Raceway Park Repeats as IHRA Division 4 Summit Team Finals Champion

FERRIS, TX — Xtreme Raceway Park repeated as champions at the IHRA Division 4 (Renegades) Summit Teams Finals sponsored by Compressed Air Supercharging.

Xtreme’s No. 1 team won by eight points over runner-up Amarillo Dragway. Edinburg Motorsports Park, Xtreme’s No. 2 team, Little River Dragway, Paris Dragstrip and Penwell Knights Raceway were other leaders.

Summit Team Finals D4 Team Winner Xtreme Raceway Park

Individual class winners earned berths to the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals at Holly Springs Motorsports Park on Oct. 5-7.

A pair of racers from XRP met in the Top (Box) final with Brent Lancasteremerging victorious after roaring down the track in 5.57 seconds at 125.63 mph against a 5.56 dial-in. Billy Simpson broke out with a 5.534 second run at 130.78 mph on a 5.54 dial-in. Lancaster enjoyed a little advantage of .008 to .015 at the tree.

Summit Team Finals D4 Box Winner Brent Lancaster
Summit Team Finals D4 BOX RUNNER UP Billy Simpson

D.J. Ray from Paris Dragstrip was the Mod (No Box) winner by going 6.194 seconds at 109.14 mph against a 6.19 dial-in. He was quicker on the start .067 to .145 than runner-up Leslie Grissom Jr. from Amarillo. Grissom also posted a solid run by matching his 5.91 dial-in at 117.98 mph.

Summit Team Finals D4 No Box Winner DJ Ray
Summit Team Finals D4 NO BOX RUNNER UP Leslie Grissom Jr

Aaron Jordan, representing Xtreme, had a near perfect .002 start in the Sportsman final to beat Jason Hildebrant from Edinburg who fouled at the start. With the race in hand, Jordan cruised down the track in his Chevrolet pick-up before collecting his Ironman trophy.

Summit Team Finals D4 SPORTSMAN winner Aaron Jordan
Summit Team Finals D4 sportsman RUNNER UP Jason Hildebrant

The Hildebrant family still had plenty to celebrate as Tate was the winner of the Junior Dragster final. Hildebrant posted a 7.957-second pass at 80.01 mph against a 7.90 dial-in with a .030 reaction time. Michael Barker from Amarillo was runner-up with an 8.30-second pass at 82.55 mph after a .062 reaction time.

Summit Team Finals JR.DRAGSTER WINNER Tate Hildebrant
Summit Team Finals D4 JR. DRAGSTER RUNNER UP Michael Barker

Michael Turman from Little River Dragway completed a clean sweep of Motorcycle races over the weekend. Turman, who earlier won Gamblers and Race of Champions events, rode his bike to a 5.762-second pass at 120.32 mph on a 5.74 dial. His .013 to .024 advantage over William Keele Jr.from Edinburg at the starting line proved to be the difference. Keele was a little closer to his dial-in, going 5.757 seconds at 117.37 mph on a 5.74 dial.

Summit Team Finals MOTORCYCLE WINNER Michael Turman
Summit Team Finals MOTORCYCLE Runner Up William Keele Jr

There was plenty of great competition and fellowship over the weekend with the Gamblers race and Race of Champions as well as special awards presented.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.