Thursday, February 29, 2024

Division 7 Team Claims Second Overall Triumph in JEGS Allstars Competition

In the 38-year history of the JEGS Allstars competition, the Division 7 team hasn’t had many reasons to celebrate, but this year was different as the squad from the Pacific Division dropped the hammer on the competition to claim their second overall team title, and first since 2012.

Photos from Auto Imagery

The Division 7 crew put two of their drivers in the winner’s circle to survive an intense down-to-the wire battle against the host team from Division 4. Division 7’s Art Hoover scored a clutch win over defending champ John Dexter in Super Steet to keep his team’s chances alive. The title was settled on the final run of the event when Dean Hall drove his Korbel Corvette to the Top Sportsman title over Brandon Miller, who was in a position to double after winning the Top Dragster title. Miller fouled but Hall likely wasn’t going to be beaten with a nearly perfect run with a .002 light and a 6.865 on his 6.85 dial.

The final tally had Division 7 with 1,200 points while the Division 4 squad was just one round win behind with 1,100 points. The Division 6 team posted a third-place finish with 700 points.

The Comp final featured reigning world champ Ryan Priddy, representing the D7 team and D4’s Chase Williams, who has won nearly everything this year in including the Dodge Power Brokers U.S. Nationals. Priddy was almost perfect off the starting line ,but his thundering Mountain View A/AA Camaro wasn’t able to keep pace with Williams who closed the deal with a (-.547) 6.693.

Defending Super Stock winner Mike Crutchfield of Division 2 was looking for his fifth Allstars title, but Division 6 racer Troy Olsonowski had other ideas. Olsonowski got a head-start of nearly three-seconds in his fan favorite Chevelle station wagon and ran an 11.795 on his 11.78 dial for the win.

Seven times, Joe Sorensen has made the trip from his native Division 6 to the JEGS Allstars and he finally got a Stock eliminator title with his wheelstanding ’69 Camaro. Sorensen saved his best run for when it mattered most with a .001 reaction time and an 11.617 on his 11.60 dial to freeze out Division 4’s Jeff Lopez, who also ran right on his dial.

The Super Comp final was crucial to the points as it featured Division 4’s Mark Powers and Tanner Theobald of Division 7. Powers left first and held on for an 8.920 to 8.927 victory.

Rusty Cook won his fourth JEGS Allstars title when he stopped Steve Parsons of Division 7 Super Gas

Hoover’s crucial win in Super Street was far from easy as he and Dexter left together. The end result was a double breakout with Hoover running a 10.886 to Dexter’s 10.853.

Although he missed his shot at a double, Brandon Miller will have an opportunity to return to next year’s JEGS Allstars after defeating Rusty Baxter in the Top Dragster final. Miller cut a .018 light and ran 6.591 on his 6.59 dial and needed most of it as Baxter had a .024 light and ran 6.104 on his 6.10 dial.

Each of the event winners, and members of the winning team, shared in a bonus of more than $125,000 and the champions will have the right to return next season as a blocker.


Division 7 1200
Division 4 1100
Division 6  700
Division 3  600
Division 5  400
Division 2  300
Division 1  200


Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.