Saturday, June 22, 2024

Muenks wins ProMod, Repeat Wins for Macklyn in Funny Car, Moore in Top Sportsman and Maples in Top Dragster, Pierce takes Pro 4.20, Mayer and Moberly win Junior Classes

The Mid-West Drag Racing Series visited the new Flying H Dragstrip this past weekend for the Summer Smackdown event. Friday’s testing faced the threat of rain, but more than 50 racers managed uninterrupted test runs as the weather held off. However, qualifying was affected by light rain, causing several rounds of track drying. The Stroud Safety ProMod class completed its first qualifying round, while the J&A Service Funny Cars attempted runs before rain halted further attempts.

Saturday’s schedule was full, with all classes except Pro Mod receiving two qualifying test sessions before the 4 PM Opening Ceremonies. Racing continued up to the curfew, ensuring a full day of competitive action.

In the Stroud Safety Pro Mod class, Mark Micke was the #1 qualifier with a 3.576 pass, also making the best pass of the race with a 3.647 in Round 2. Ron Muenks claimed the class victory over Brian Lewis, with a Blower Car Finals. Muenks eliminated Blake Housley, Chris Juliano and  Keith Haney on his way to the Finals. Lewis’s final pass was a personal best 

Racer highlights included Blake Housley returning to form with new tires, Mark Micke swapping engines between rounds in just one hour, Wayne Roberts advancing to Round 2 by defeating #4 Qualifier Aaron Wells, and Keith Goolsby making a 6-hour round trip for a replacement transmission to stay in competition. 

In the J&A Service Top Alcohol Funny Car class, Jim Whiteley was the #1 qualifier. Defending Champion Steve Macklyn won against Lance Van Hauen, marking his second MWDRS event win of the season. Lance Van Hauen advanced to his first Funny Car finals with a bye, and Bob McCosh used the event as a test session for the upcoming NHRA race.

In the Icon Forged Piston/Race Star Wheels Top Dragster class, Anita Strasburg was the #1 qualifier with a 3.749 ET. Jeremy Maples secured his second class win of the season, praising the new Flying H facility and the support he received. Jordan Eperjesi was the runner-up, her second of the season, while Jordan Eaker pulled off a big upset by eliminating Anita Strausburg in Round 2. Jeremy Maples remarked “Our first trip to the new Flying H turned out great. VERY impressed with the new facility, and the staff from both the track and MWDRS. From driving all night with my 2 boys snoring on the couch and pulling in at Daybreak Saturday morning, to ending up on the bump at #16 qualifier, to breaking a rocker arm while driving up for 2nd round, sometimes all the little things fall in your favor and you have to take all the extra luck you can get. Thankful for my family and friends who support me, thankful for Darrell White and Cody Moore who took parts off their own car to get me by, and a shout out to Keith Haney racing who made it possible by loaning us tools to get the car fixed in a pinch. Sponsor shoutout to #HODGEAUTOGROUP.COM

In the Performance Bearing Top Sportsman class, Macy Higgins was the #1 qualifier with a 4.264 in his second MWDRS appearance. Defending Champion Rod Moore secured his second win of the season with his nitrous-powered Straightline Racing Engines S10. Tina Pierce qualified 6th in her Nova after struggling with the Colorado in it’s first appearance on big tires, Rod Moore benefited from opponents’ breakages, and newcomer James Huggett qualified 4th but damaged his motor in the eliminations race.

In the Champion AutoLift Pro 4.20 class, James Ogden qualified #1 with a perfect 4.200 saying “I planned to run a 4.21 but made a mistake”. Dave Pierce won after Derrol Hubbard redlit in the final round. Ryan Bush debuted his ’69 Camaro with plans to compete the season in Pro 4.20 and move to Pro Mod in 2025. James Ogden laid down a 4.199 and 4.197 in testing before securing the top qualifier spot in Q1.

In the Race Star Wheels Pro Junior Dragster class, Olivia Mayer won with a borrowed car, arranged as a surprise by her dad and Aaron Wells. Isaak Stephenson, who overcame a broken chain during qualifying, was the runner-up. Two-time defending champion Alexis Kesterson was eliminated in Round 1 but later won the Slammers Class.

In the Zimmerman Properties Sportsman Junior class, Haven Moberly was the winner, with Racin Mason Higgins as the runner-up. Braylee Blevens and her team impressed by replacing the entire rear end between rounds.

For media inquiries, please contact Ellen Eschenbacher at ellen@midwestpromodseries.com

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.