Monday, July 22, 2024

Freeman, Peavler triumph at Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals

Royce Freeman and Al Peavler visited the winner’s circle for the first time at the Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals at Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, OH.

NORWALK, OH – Royce Freeman and Al Peavler led the winners at the Freeman, Peavler claim wins at Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals, picking up the NHRA Wally in Competition Eliminator and Top Dragster. This was both driver’s first trip to the big stage for the NHRA Wally.

DragChamp Logo

Joining them in the winner’s circle was Jeff Dona (SS), Ken Whitcher (Stock), Phil Smida (SC), Bob Prose (SG), and James Hinkle (TS).

Read the race recap below to learn more about the winners!

Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals

Competition Eliminator

Royce Freeman took home his first NHRA National event Wally after defeating Robert Bailey in the final round. Bailey had the starting line advantage, .081 to .141, but Freeman was able to get around him at the top end by .005 and ran a 6.952 at 195 mph on his 7.46 index.

Monty Bogan and James Greenheck were the semi-finalists.

Super Stock

Jeff Dona picked up his fourth NHRA National event Wally after defeating Monty Bogan in the final round. Dona had the slight starting line advantage, .041 to .049, and turned it into a win light on a double-breakout running a 9.787 at 134 mph on his 9.80 dial-in.

Pete D’Agnolo and George Wright were the semi-finalists.

Stock Eliminator

Ken Whitcher picked up his first NHRA National event trophy after defeating Brenda Grubbs in the final round. Whitcher had the starting line advantage, .003 to .026, and never trailed back for the win. He ran a 11.250 at 114 mph on his 11.26 dial-in.

Derrick Wyche and Alex Anderson were the semi-finalists.

Super Comp

Phil Smida picked up his sixth NHRA National event Wally after defeating Jamie Elrod in the final round. On the double-breakout, Smida had the slight starting line advantage with an .011 reaction time and ran a 8.896 at 179 mph to claim the trophy.

Hunter Patton and Jeremy Mason were the semi-finalists.


Super Gas

Bob Prose visited the winners circle in his new-to-him racecar after defeating Michael Handras in the final round to pick up his second NHRA Wally. Handras turned it -.007 at the hit to give the easy ride to Prose, who was .022 up front and ran a 9.818 at 151 mph.

Jeremy Mason and Leo Zynda were the semi-finalists.

Top Dragster

Al Peavler won his first NHRA Wally after he defeated Chris Sullivan in the final round. Peavler was .002 up front and ran a 6.121 at 225 mph on his 6.14 dial-in for the trophy.

Zach Sackman and Blake Peavler were the semi-finalists.

Top Sportsman

James Hinkle won his third NHRA Wally on his absolute terror of a season after he defeated Zach Sackman in the final round. Hinkle threw down a .008 package to lock Sackman out at the hit, who was .046. Hinkle was .005 and ran a 7.463 at 181 mph for the trophy.

Mark McDonald and Don Saathoff were the semi-finalists.

Megan Strassweg

Megan Bohannon is a 26 year old Super Comp racer from Louisville, Kentucky. She races a 2015 American Dragster with a 648 Oakley Motorsports Engine. Growing up at the racetrack, drag racing is all she has known and never plans to give up on it. Megan works with TB Promotions in promoting their races and keeping entries straight, as well as keeping their social media pages updated.

You can reach Megan on Facebook or email at megan@dragchamp.com

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.