Saturday, June 22, 2024

Sackman, Miller win NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals

Matt Sackman and Ray Miller III visited the winner’s circle at the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals at Bristol Dragway in Bristol, TN.

BRISTOL, TN – Matt Sackman and Ray Miller III led the winners at the Super Grip NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals, picking up the NHRA Wally in Top Dragster and Super Comp. Sackman won the event in 2023 in the same class, going back-to-back.

DragChamp Logo

Joining them in the winner’s circle was Byron Worner (SS), Jimmy Hidalgo (STK), and Gene Brown (SG).

Read the race recap below to learn more about the winners!

Super Grip NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals

Super Stock

Byron Worner took home the Wally after defeating Jeff Adkinson in the final round. Worner had the slight starting line advantage, .042 to .051, and turned it into a win light running a 9.882 at 120 mph on his 9.87 dial-in.

Don Shuford was the semi-finalist.

Stock Eliminator

Jimmy Hidalgo remained victorious and picked up the trophy after defeating Monty Bogan in the final round. Hidalgo had the slight starting line advantage, .035 to .040, and never trailed back for the win. He ran a 11.094 at 113 mph on his 11.08 dial-in.

Terry Hembree was the semi-finalist.

Super Comp

Ray Miller III picked up the NHRA National event Wally after defeating Vincent Nobile in the final round. Miller had the starting line advantage, .010 to .014, and ran a 8.931 at 174 mph on the 8.90 index to pick up his second NHRA Wally in his NexGen Racecar.

Michael Holcombe were the semi-finalist.


Super Gas

Gene Brown visited the winners circle after defeating JJ Brock in the final round to pick up the win. Brock turned it -.003 at the hit to give the easy ride to Brown, who was .024 up front and ran a 9.906 at 162 mph.

Todd Barton the semi-finalist.

Top Dragster

Matt Sackman went back-to-back after winning the event in 2023 and defeated Vance Houston in the final round to take home the Top Dragster Wally. Sackman was .004 up front and ran a 6.191 at 224 mph on his 6.18 dial-in for the trophy.

JR Baxter and Chris Roe were the semi-finalists.

Megan Strassweg

Megan Bohannon is a 26 year old Super Comp racer from Louisville, Kentucky. She races a 2015 American Dragster with a 648 Oakley Motorsports Engine. Growing up at the racetrack, drag racing is all she has known and never plans to give up on it. Megan works with TB Promotions in promoting their races and keeping entries straight, as well as keeping their social media pages updated.

You can reach Megan on Facebook or email at megan@dragchamp.com

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.