Saturday, June 22, 2024

David Butler and Kevin Houmard Win Mid-Season Super Street races, Dale Taros Takes Points Lead

David Butler and Kevin Houmard claimed wins at the Southern California Super Street Association Race #3 and #4 at Famoso Dragstrip.

Written by Bob Johnson

BAKERSFIELD, CA- David Butler had a great weekend at Famoso Dragstrip as he led qualifying both days of the Southern California Super Street Association doubleheader and won the Saturday race, defeating John Sapone in the final round.  Kevin Houmard won for the first time this season, stopping Dale Taros’ 240Z in the final on Sunday.  Taros may have been the big winner over the weekend, as he moved up eight spots in the standings to take over the points lead going into the final series weekend of the year (June 15-16, 2024).

As mentioned, David Butler was the top qualifier of the Smith Motorsports/Richard & Christine Meyer-sponsored race with a 10.907 with his ’74 Vega, earning the Mechanix Wear award.  Dennis Paz was second, and Taros was third in the 19-car field. 

DragChamp Logo

Race #3

David Butler earned the first-round bye run with his Lake Elsinore Transmission/Bob Earleywine Performance-sponsored entry, then proceeded to defeat ’23 champ Ryan Houmard, Jordan Yeager, and Ted Kellner, before his final match with John Sapone.  After missing the first two races of the season, Sapone went to the final with wins over Kip McClain, Taros, and Kenny Snow before getting a bye into the final.  Butler recorded a superb .003 reaction time in the final, coupled with a 10.910 second, 134.67 mph pass as Sapone’s El Camino was too quick, losing with a 10.896, 127.47.

David Butler & John Sapone, Race #3 Final Round Super Street Butler
David Butler & John Sapone, Race #3 Final Round
David Butler, Race #3 Winner Super Street Butler
David Butler, Race #3 Winner

Race #4

The Mechanix Wear qualifying for the fourth race of the season was led by Butler with a perfect 10.900, followed by Sapone (10.902), and Paz (10.904). Quarterfinal action for the RaceTrans.com/Dice Performance Converters-sponsored event saw SST rookie Jordan Yeager drive his ’69 Camaro to a double-breakout race against Dennis Paz, Kevin Houmard beat Wes Anderson, and Taros got a bye. In the semifinals Taros defeated Yeager, 10.954 to a 10.984, and Houmard got a bye into the final.  Two-time Super Street champ Kevin Houmard (2019 & 2022) and Taros met in the final with Houmard’s Sander’s Automotive Chevy El Camino running a perfect 10.900 (.029 reaction time) as Taros finished second with a 10.894, (.012 r.t.).

Kevin Houmard & Dale Taros, Race #4 Final Round
Kevin Houmard & Dale Taros, Race #4 Final Round
Kevin Houmard, Race #4 Winner Super Street Butler
Kevin Houmard, Race #4 Winner

Enjoying his best season in Super Street, Dale Taros leads the series championship points and the shootout points going into the final weekend of the season.  Dale has 1952 points, followed by Greg Ventura (1940), Jordan Yeager (1921), Ryan Houmard (1913), and David Butler (1850).  Taros has 50 points in the shootout standings, with Dennis Paz and Butler next with 47 points, and Hugh Mueller fourth with 43 points.  The top eight will compete for the Super Street Shootout title on June 16, 2024, at Bakersfield preceding the final round of the year.

Super Street Butler
Dale Taros, Current Points Leader

Sponsors for the series include Pizazz Racing, Able Wire EDM, RPM Racing, Houmard Racing, Smith Motorsports, Corina Properties, RaceTrans.com and Dice Performance Converters. 

Contingency and product sponsors include Mechanix Wear, Sanders Automotive, Crew Chief Pro, K&N, Auto Meter, Brandt Racing Ent., On the Stop Workshop, High Roller Tiki Lounge, Fuel Factory, and Foggit.

For more Super Street racing news from DragChamp, click here.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.