Thursday, February 29, 2024

2023 DragChamp Racer of the Year

Kevin Brannon wins the 2023 Overall Racer of the Year title presented by Laris Motorsports Insurance

01/31/24 – Welcome to the 2023 DragChamp Racer of the Year Top 10 List presented by Laris Motorsports Insurance. Read below to see which racers made the biggest impact during the 2023 season.

Racecar insurance is more affordable than you think! Laris Motorsports Insurance policies are handled in house so they can provide quotes within minutes and they offer the broadest coverage available. Call (985) 746-4663 today to learn how Laris Motorsports Insurance can protect your racing operation both on and off the track! If you’re a business owner, Laris also offers commercial insurance. Protect your business with a trusted name.

Want to check out previous Top 10 Lists, click here.

DragChamp Top 10 List Logo

DragChamp Top 10 List

1 – Kevin Brannon

Kevin Brannon wins the 2023 DragChamp Top Bulb Racer of the Year title and the 2023 Overall Racer of the Year title! Kevin made at least nine big money final rounds this past year winning six times. Highlights included winning $100K, running himself in a $50K final, and doubling up for $20K. This was his second straight season to make the Overall Racer of the Year Top 10 as he finished 4th overall last year.

2 – Donnie Hagar

Donnie Hagar broke the internet last fall after winning the OG Million main event. Hagar became the first ever No-Box winner of the Million. Shortly after securing the million dollar win, Hagar doubled up at the WDRA World Finals winning both the Friday Gamblers and the No-Box World title. On the season, Hagar won nine times in fifteen final round appearances. His historic season propelled him to the 2023 Bottom Bulb Racer of the Year title.

3 – Cory Gulitti

Cory gulitti

2022 Top Bulb Racer of the Year Cory Gulitti lands in the #3 spot this year after finishing second overall in last years Top 10 List. Cory won four times in five big money events while also making quarterfinal and semifinal showings in two $100K races. His wins during the 2023 season included a $20K, $50K, $60K, and mostly recently a $75K victory in Florida.

4 – Shane Carr

shane carr

Sugar Shane put together an outstanding season driving several different race cars. Although he won in nearly everything he drove, the majority of his success came behind the wheel of Donny B’s orange dragster. Shane won seven times on the season including a $10K, 30K, and a $50K. He also made another OG Million final, his third overall, where he came up short to Donnie Hagar.

5 – Wesley Lockhart

Bottom bulb ace Wesley Lockhart raced to the IHRA World Championship to cap off an outstanding season which included 12 wins in 19 final round appearances. Lockhart, a constant figure on the Top 10 List, won the No-Box track championships at Beacon and Gleason for the second year in a row. He won the Beacon championship by 36 rounds and was also the IHRA Division 2 champ.

6 – Brandon Miller

Brandon Miller dominated the NHRA Top Sportsman class during the 2023 campaign winning six times in nine finals to earn the 2023 Top Sportsman / Top Dragster Racer of the Year title. The 20 year old Miller was the D1 champ for the third consecutive season, won Top Dragster at the JEGS Allstars for the second year in a row, and also made the Top Sportsman final at the Allstars. In addition to his success in the fast bracket classes, Miller also wheeled a Pro Stock car during the year.

7 – Steve Collier

Steve Collier grabs the lucky #7 spot after winning eleven times in sixteen finals. Collier, consistently raced through the No-Box field at big money events where he joined the Top Bulb class. On several occasions, Collier finished strong winning the Top Bulb class off the bottom. This included a $10K victory at Final Call Doorcar Duel, a $7K victory at the May Race Carbs Full House, and a $18K victory at the Triple 12’s.

8 – Chris Bear

Chris Bear dominated the summer posting big money wins on a weekly basis to earn the #8 spot on the 2023 Top 10 List. Bear’s highlights included winning two $10K’s, two $20K’s, and a $25K.

9 – John Labbous Jr.

John Labbous jr

John Labbous Jr., our #1 ranked .90 racer in 2022 and #2 ranked .90 driver in 2023, sits in the #9 spot in the overall Top 10 List for 2023. Lil John won the Super Comp World Championship and posted a seventh place finish in Super Gas. He also won the Division 2 Super Comp title for the second consecutive season and finished #2 in Super Gas. Between the two classes, Labbous won six of seven final rounds on the season.

10 – Kyle Rizzoli

kyle rizzoli

Kyle Rizzoli, the 2023 DragChamp Class Racer of the Year, lands in the #10 spot on our 2023 Overall Racer of the Year Top 10. Rizzoli won the Class Racer title after winning the Stock Eliminator World championship and finishing third in the Super Stock standings. He dominated the Stock class seemingly from the opening race of the year and never relinquished his lead. Late in the season Kyle was also leading the Super Stock standings before falling to third place. Along with his great national finishes, Kyle won the D7 Stock championship and finished second in Super Stock. On the season, Kyle posted three wins in eight final round appearances between two classes.

Let us know what you think about the DragChamp Top 10 List. We want to hear from you. Check us out on Facebook and share it with your friends.

DragChamp Logo

And remember, look for our DragChamp Top 10 List nominations Facebook post every Monday evening. You can nominate your favorites in the comments of the post for consideration on the list.

DragChamp is your online source for sportsman drag race results, news, and updates.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.