Thursday, February 29, 2024

DragChamp 2023 Bottom Bulb Racer of the Year

Donnie Hagar wins the OG Million and WDRA World championship to earn the 2023 Bottom Bulb Racer of the Year title presented by Laris Motorsports Insurance

01/17/24 – Welcome to the 2023 DragChamp Bottom Bulb Racer of the Year Top 10 List presented by Laris Motorsports Insurance. We ranked the best Bottom Bulb racers of the year. Read below to see which racers made the biggest impact over the 2023 season.

Racecar insurance is more affordable than you think! Laris Motorsports Insurance policies are handled in house so they can provide quotes within minutes and they offer the broadest coverage available. Call (985) 746-4663 today to learn how Laris Motorsports Insurance can protect your racing operation both on and off the track! If you’re a business owner, Laris also offers commercial insurance. Protect your business with a trusted name.

Want to check out previous Top 10 Lists, click here.

DragChamp Top 10 List Logo

DragChamp Top 10 List

1 – Donnie Hagar

Donnie Hagar broke the internet last fall after winning the OG Million main event. Hagar became the first ever No-Box winner of the Million. Shortly after securing the million dollar win, Hagar doubled up at the WDRA World Finals winning both the Friday Gamblers and the No-Box World title. On the season, Hagar won nine times in fifteen final round appearances. His historic season propelled him to the 2023 Bottom Bulb Racer of the Year title.

2 – Wesley Lockhart

Speaking of world champions, Wesley Lockhart raced to the IHRA World Championship to cap off an outstanding season which included 12 wins in 19 final round appearances. Lockhart, a constant figure on the Top 10 List, won the No-Box track championships at Beacon and Gleason for the second year in a row. He won the Beacon championship by 36 rounds and was also the IHRA Division 2 champ.

3 – Steve Collier

Steve Collier lands in the three spot after winning eleven times in sixteen finals. Collier, consistently raced through the No-Box field at big money events where he joined the Top Bulb class. On several occasions, Collier finished strong winning the Top Bulb class off the bottom. This included a $10K victory at Final Call Doorcar Duel, a $7K victory at the May Race Carbs Full House, and a $18K victory at the Triple 12’s.

5 – Jake Howard

Texas Footbrake ace Jake Howard grabs the fourth spot after winning thirteen times in twenty finals. Howard, who raced primarily in North Texas and Oklahoma, dominated both No-Box and Top Bulb classes in his footbrake entry. He earned four track championships last season at three different tracks which included a fifth straight Footbrake championship at Ardmore!

4 – Derrick Patton

Derrick Patton grabs a top 5 spot after winning sixteen times in twenty finals. Patton raced the wheels off his Ford at races throughout the South. He won the No-Box championship at State Capital and finished second in Top Bulb.

6 – Jeff Barth

Jeff Barth posted huge numbers on the west coast in his Vega. Racing in a variety of series and classes, Barth won 24 times in 27 finals.

7 – Keaton Overstreet

Keaton Overstreet grabs the lucky 7 spot after racing to eleven wins in sixteen finals in his first year in big cars. Overstreet and his Mustang competed in No-Box, Sportsman, and Top Bulb on the season with success coming in all three classes.

8 – Kayden Hayman

Kayden Hayman also impressed in his first season in big cars after winning 13 times in 19 finals. Hayman, who never competed in Jr.’s, found success quickly in big cars winning on a consistent basis at tracks near his South Louisiana home.

9 – Jonathan Martin

Jonathan Martin was on the Top 10 List seemingly every week last fall. Martin and his S-10 won nine times in eleven finals including finishing the season with a $10K victory at the Footbrake Feast.

10 – Andrew Goss

Andrew Goss has also been a constant on the Top 10 List over the last couple seasons. Between his SP dragster, Wagon, and GTO Goss tends to find himself in multiple finals on a consistent basis. Competing at tracks across the Midwest, Goss is quickly making a name for himself as a top competitor. On the season Andrew won 16 times in 23 finals off the bottom.

Let us know what you think about the DragChamp Top 10 List. We want to hear from you. Check us out on Facebook and share it with your friends.

DragChamp Logo

And remember, look for our DragChamp Top 10 List nominations Facebook post every Monday evening. You can nominate your favorites in the comments of the post for consideration on the list.

DragChamp is your online source for sportsman drag race results, news, and updates.

One thought on “DragChamp 2023 Bottom Bulb Racer of the Year

  • Awesome racers on the list! Congrats !


Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.