Huge Car Counts Highlight IHRA Race at Dragway 42

Huge fields of 500-plus cars provided tough competition at the IHRA Sportsman Spectacular race at Dragway 42.

WEST SALEM, Ohio — The International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Sportsman Spectacular presented by Hagerty and Moser Engineering returned to Draway 42 Saturday and Sunday with Zack Hawthorn and Jordan Freshour taking home the top honors in the Top and Mod class.

Huge fields of 500-plus cars Saturday and 450-plus cars Sunday provided tough competition for competitors throughout the weekend.

In the Junior Dragster beginner class finals Saturday, Brayden Baher from Amherst, Ohio defeated Parker Novak from Monroe, Mich. Baehr had a final run of 11.850 seconds at 54.84 mph against a 11.90 dial-in. Novak had a 11.884 second run at 54.45 mph against a 12.09 dial-in.

In the Junior dragster advanced class finals on Saturday, Peyton Novak from Monroe, Mich., defeated Roman Iocoangeli from Monroe, Mich.  Novak had a winning pass at 9.004 seconds at 72.48 mph against an 8.94 dial-in. Iocoangeli had a quicker but losing final of 8.935 second at 72.16 mph against an 8.90 dial-in.

In Junior Dragster master class finals on Saturday, Jaden Maze from Bairford, Pa., defeated Antonio Iocoangeli from Monroe, Mich.  Maze had a winning pass at 7.950 seconds at 82.21 mph against a 7.93 dial-in. Iocoangeli had a 7.948 second pass at 79.84 mph against a 7.90 dial-in.

A delayed start Saturday due to overnight showers and cold nighttime temperatures forced officials to stop competition in the interest of safety on Saturday.  Saturday’s purse amongst Top, Mod, Motorcycle and Street classes were split amongst the remaining competitors. 

In the Top final on Sunday, Zack Hawthorn from Brookpark, Ohio defeated Dave Edwards from Fostoria, Ohio. Hawthorn had a winning pass of 7.118 seconds at 95.97 mph against a 7.11 dial-in. Edwards had a 4.87 second pass at 139.62 mph against a 4.84 dial-in.

Jordan Freshour from Collins, Ohio defeated Michael Egan from Greenburg, Pa., who red lighted in the Mod final. Freshour had a winning pass of 6.270 seconds at 108.41 mph against a 6.27 dial-in.

Tom McGovern from Curtice, Ohio defeated Garreth Sheppeard in the motorcycle final. McGovern had an 8.687 second pass at 148.47 mph.  Sheppeard has a quicker but losing 8.159 second pass at 149.85 mph.

In the Street final, Donnie Hagar from Clarklake, Mich., defeated TJ Jordan from Castalia, Ohio. Hagar had a 13.405 second run at 91.59 mph against a 13.41 dial in.  Jordan, had a 16.814 second pass at 84.13 mph against a 16.85 dial-in.

Ava Lawson from Sandusky, Ohio defeated Sarah Mccoy from Grove City, Ohio in the Junior Dragster master final.  Lawson had a winning pass at 7.918 seconds at 81.92 mph against a 7.90 dial-in.  Mccoy had an 8.485 second pass at 79.96 mph against an 8.22 dial-in.

In the Junior Dragster advanced final, Dexter Gomez from Amherst, Ohio defeated Roman Iocoangeli from Monroe, Mich.  Gomez had a winning pass of 9.092 seconds at 73.17 mph. Ioconageli had an 8.961 second pass at 73.37 mph.

Harper Hying from Minerva, Ohio defeated Nathan Coon from Elyria, Ohio in the Junior Dragster beginnger class.  Hying had a 12.509 second pass at 52.71 mph. Coon had a 11.876 second pass at 45.09 mph.

The IHRA Sportsman Spectacular heads north to US 131 Motorsports Park, June 26-28 for a thrilling double race weekend.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.