2020 NHRA Northeast Division 1 Champions

The NHRA Northeast Division crowns their 2020 champions. 2020 Super Stock World Champion Bryan Worner leads the list of winners.

After a long and rather complicated 2020 season, the NHRA Northeast Division crowned their 2020 champions recently.

DragChamp Logo

The list of Division 1 champs doesn’t lack of any slouches including 2020 World Champion Bryan Worner in Super Stock. Joining him on the list is Pete D’Agnolo, John Shaul, Amanda Boicesco, Justin Lopes, Brian Sawyer, Al Kenny, and Ronald Riegel.

For more on each champion, read the 2020 season recap below.

NHRA Northeast Division 1 2020 Champions

Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series

Competition Eliminator – Pete D’Agnolo

Pete D’Agnolo

Pete D’Agnolo finished the season with 315 points, which ended up being two wins and a semi-final finish. Following suit was Frank Aragona Jr. with 307 points and Lee Zane with 252 points.

D’Agnolo’s two wins both came at Epping and his semi-final finish was at VMP.

Super Stock – Bryan Worner

Bryan Worner

2020 World Champion Bryan Worner finished the season with 439 points and taking home three Divisional Wallys. Following suit was his brother, Byron Worner, with 328 points and William Kennedy with 297 points.

Worner’s three wins came at Epping and his double-up at VMP.

Stock Eliminator – John Shaul

John Shaul

John Shaul finished the season with 382 points, totaling out with three semi-finial finishes. Following behind him was Shane Oakes with 329 points and Matthew Lisa with 328 points.

Shaul’s three semi-final finishes came at the VMP double-up and Las Vegas.

Super Comp – Amanda Boicesco

Amanda Boicesco

Amanda Boicesco finished the season with 363 points, totaling out with two divisional wins. Following behind her were Daniel Bisbano and Shawn Fricke with 330 points each, but Bisbano won the tiebreaker making him second and Fricke third.

Boicesco’s two wins came at Epping and Rockingham.

Super Gas – Justin Lopes

Justin Lopes

Justin Lopes finished the season with two wins, totaling out to 385 points. Following behind him were Iggie Boicesco with 343 points and Jason Kenny with 331 points.

Lopes’ wins came at Lebanon Valley and Indy.

Super Street – Brian Sawyer

Brian Sawyer

Brian Sawyer decided the go back to back and win the division again with 419 points, totaling out to two wins. Following suit was Taylor Iacono and Keith Mayers with 362 points, but Iacono won the tiebreaker making her second and Mayers third in the points.

Sawyer’s wins came at VMP and Rockingham.

Top Dragster – Al Kenny

Al Kenny
Al Kenny

Al Kenny finished the season with 367 points, totaling out to three divisional wins. Following behind him was Rick Bell with 260 points and Deborah DiGenova with 249 points.

Kenny’s three wins came at Lebanon Valley, Epping, and VMP.

Top Sportsman – Ronald Riegel

Ronald Riegel

Ronald Riegel finished the season with 346 points, totaling out to one win and two runner-ups. Following suit was Nick Meloni and Jeff Brooks with 270 points, but Meloni won the tiebreaker making him second and Brooks third.

Riegel’s win came at Epping and his two runner-ups at Reading and VMP.

Megan Strassweg

About the author: Megan Strassweg is a 22 year old Super Comp racer from Louisville, Kentucky. She races a 2015 American Dragster sponsored by Coolshirt Systems. She graduated from Western Kentucky University in May of 2020 with a degree in Photojournalism and a minor in Entrepreneurship. Megan works at Jim Butner Auto in the Finance Department. Growing up at the racetrack, drag racing is all she has known and never plans to give up on it. 

You can reach Megan on Facebook or email at megan@dragchamp.com

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.