Division 2 Wins Overall JEGS Allstars Crown

For the eighth time, the Southeast Division team celebrates an overall team title at the prestigious JEGS Allstars.

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – Riding a hot streak with wins from three of their team members, the squad from the NHRA Southeast Division (Division 2) claimed the overall team title at the JEGS Allstars race held on Friday during the Dodge//SRT U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis.

DragChamp Logo

The Division 2 team finished with 1,100 points to win the overall title for the eighth time, and first since 2015. The teams from the Northeast Division (Division 1) and South Central Division (Division 4) finished in second place with 900 points while the home team from the North Central Division tallied 800 points.

Division 2 banked wins from Ray Miller III (Super Comp), Rusty Cook (Super Gas), and Jacob Rutledge (Super Street) to claim the title which was not decided until the final rounds of the event, which celebrated it’s 37th year.

Jacob Rutledge

Miller, the former Super Comp world champ and current points leader, defeated Division 3 rep Zach Fisher with an 8.94 in the final round. Cook also chipped in with three valuable round wins after scoring a narrow 9.918 to 9.889 decision over defending JEGS Allstars winner Jeremy Mason in Super Gas. Rutledge, making his first Allstars appearance, went the distance in Super Street after Division 7 racer Ryan Giacone red-lighted in the final.

In Comp, Engels claimed the victory after Bourgeois had to lift off the throttle in his front-engine A/Nostalgia dragster. Racing against a 7.89 index, Engels drove to a 7.361 to seal the victory.

Reigning NHRA Super Stock world champion Bryan Worner drove to a win in Super Stock for the Division 1 team after Division 7s Brian Broussart red-lighted by just two thousandths of a second.

Jerry Emmons

A red-light also decided the Stock final where Division 3s Randi Lyn Shipp left a fraction of a second too soon, allowing Division 4 ace Jerry Emmons to drove to the title. With a free pass, Emmons drove his Lucas Oil Camaro to a 10.272 on his 10.30 dial-in.

There was another former world champion in the winner’s circle in Top Dragster presented by Vortech Superchargers as Al Kenny of the Division 1 team drove to a narrow in over Division 3s Al Peavler. Both drivers posted a 6.10-second dial, and Kenny won on a holeshot, 6.118 to 6.112.

In Top Sportsman presented by Vortech Superchargers, Division 6 racer Robert Strohm celebrated a win with a 7.445 on his 7.40 dial after Division 4s Bob Gulitti got loose and had to lift before the finish line.

Bryan Worner

The winners of the JEGS Allstars shared in a prize pool of more than $150,000 with a $20,000 bonus split among member of the winning team. Racers qualify for the JEGS Allstars by earning points in their home divisions during the preceding season.

jegs allstars

Division 2    1,100
Division 1    900
Division 4    900
Division 3    800
Division 7    600
Division 5    500
Division 6    400

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.