Monday, July 22, 2024

Titles Earned at NHRA JDRL Eastern Conference Finals

Teel, Smith, Ward, Harp, Radford, Wilson, Burt, and Rachford win championship titles at 2021 NHRA Eastern Conference Finals.

BRISTOL, TN- The NHRA Jr. Drag Racing Eastern Conference Finals presented by Mike Bos Chassis Craft took place at Bristol Dragway July 15-17, 2021. Junior Dragster races hailed from all over the United States to have the opportunity to race for a week long and get the chance to be crowned as an Eastern Conference Finals champion. In addition to the main age group races, there were also multiple shootouts, index classes, and fun races to give racers even more chances to win.

This year’s champions included: Camden Teel (6-9), Ava Smith (age 10), Ava Ward (11), Morgan Harp (12), Phillip Radford (13), Gage Wilson (14), Ian Burt (15), and Gage Rachford (16-17). Atlanta Dragway Team 1 earned the Team Championship title.

See below for full results!

6-9 Year Old Champion- Camden Teel

In the 6-9 year old age group, Camden Teel made history becoming the first driver to ever win both Conference Finals events in the same year. In the final round, Teel had the starting line advantage over Autumn Wright and ran a 12.227 on a 12.18 dial-in for the win. Wright posted a 11.917 on a 11.90 dial-in.

Camden Teel, 6-9 Year Old Champion

10 Year Old Champion- Ava Smith

In the 10-year-old class final, Myles Heatherly was better at the Tree, but ended up breaking out at the top end with an 8.919 on a 8.94 dial-in. His breakout opened up the opportunity for Ava Smith to turn on the win light with an 8.993 on a 8.95 dial.

Ava Smith, 10 Year Old Champion

11 Year Old Champion Ava Ward

Ava Ward left the starting line with a .047 light and ran a 8.954 on a 8.94 dial-in to claim the win in the 11-year-old bracket final against Ava Badgett, who broke out with an 8.867 on a 8.90.

Ava Ward, 11 Year Old Champion

12 Year Old Champion- Morgan Harp

Morgan Harp claimed his second Eastern Conference championship after securing the 12-year-old age group win over Dylan MacNicol. Harp had the advantage at the starting line with a .014 light and used it to overcome MacNicol by running a 8.950 on a 8.92 dial-in for the win.

Morgan Harp, 12 Year Old Champion

13 Year Old Champion- Phillip Radford

Phillip Radford picked up the 13-year-old age-group win after 2020 Eastern Conference Finals champion, Kade Renoll fouled by -.007 in the final round. Radford ran a 7.932 on a 7.92 on his victory lap.

Eastern Conference Finals
Phillip Radford, 13 Year Old Champion

14 Year Old Champion- Gage Wilson

Former Western Conference Finals Champion, Gage Wilson claimed the 14-year-old age-group ECF win over Gavin Shoemaker. Shoemaker had a slight starting line advantage but broke out with a 8.092 on a 8.10 dial-in. Wilson ran dead-on his 7.90 dial-in to turn on the win light.

Eastern Conferenced Finals
Gage Wilson, 14 Year Old Champion

15 Year Old Champion- Ian Burt

In the 15-year-old final, Ian Burt had a slight .004-second advantage at the starting line and posted a 7.935 on a 7.91 dial-in to claim the win over Kaitlyn Morgan. Morgan broke out by .001-second.

Eastern Conference Finals

16-17 Year Old Class Champion- Gage Rachford

Gage Rachford rounded out his stellar week by claiming the 16-17 ECF Champion title. In the final, Addyson Owens left -.007 red automatically turning on Rachford’s win light. Rachford cut a .004 light and ran a 7.893 on a 7.93 dial-in.

Eastern Conference Finals
Gage Rachford, 16-17 Year Old Champion

Pre-Eastern Conference Finals Results

Mike Bos Prelude Shootout
Winner – Trenten Phann
R/U – Victoria Beaner

13.90 Index
Winner – Connor Boyd
R/U – Knox Rachford

11.90 Index
Winner – Autumn Wright
R/U – Caden Oliveira

8.90 Index
Winner – Jimmy Cavanaugh
R/U – Matthew Peterson

7.90 Index
Winner – Summer Gibson
R/U – Braylon Kuhn

6-9 Sunday Bonus Race
Winner – Brian Price
R/U – Bailey Benda

10-12 Sunday Bonus Race
Winner – Allison Bolle
R/U – Logan Anderson

13-14 Sunday Bonus Race
Winner – Blake Combs
R/U – Ava Tiburzi

15-17 Sunday Bonus Race
Winner – Nathan Mendenhall
R/U – Katie Craft

Mike Bos 64 Car Shootout
Winner – Gage Rachford
R/U – Paul Stalba

Quick 32
Winner – Brandon Sullivan
R/U – Hayden Land

13+ Fun Race
Winner – Braydon Deal
R/U – Gage Rachford

6-12 Fun Race
Winner – Hailey Peterson
R/U – Cayden Keyes

2021 Team Champions- Atlanta Dragway Team 1

Atlanta Dragway Team 1 earned the most points during eliminations to claim the 2021 ECF team championship.

Atlanta Dragway Team 1

Special Awards

Best Appearing Car- Christian Handwerk

Best Engineered Car- James Libby

Team Spirit- Huntsville Dragway

Best Appearing Team- Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park

Congratulations to all winners and finalists from the 2021 NHRA Eastern Conference Finals at Bristol Dragway!

For more NHRA news from DragChamp, click here.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.