CP Racing Promotions Finishes Strong with Halloween Triple Tens

Porcher and Martin prevail off the bottom bulb while Ezell, Justice, Thorp, and Finch tackle the top bulb at the Halloween Triple Tens.

ENNIS, TX – The Halloween Triple Tens at Texas Motorplex marked the end of CP Racing Promotions 2020 event schedule. The three-day race would pay $10K to the Box winner Friday, Saturday, and Sunday as well as $5K to the No Box winner each day.

Saturday evening would feature two shootouts and at the conclusion of Sunday’s race, the 2020 CP Racing Promotions points series would be completed. Both the Box and No Box points champions would earn a 2021 gold card as well as half of the points fund.

halloween triple tens1
A few of the costumes during the Halloween Triple Tens at Texas Motorplex

Friday No Box Results

In Friday’s No Box Final round, two Texas natives would battle off the bottom for the first $5,000 payout. Drew Porcher takes the win over Jake Howard.

Drew Porcher picks up $5,000 in No Box on Friday

Friday Box Results

During the $10K Top bulb final round, Louisiana’s Johnny Ezell turns on the final win light over Darron Spears.

johnny ezell cp racing promotions 2020 box points champion
Johnny “Bracket Racer” Ezell cashes in for $10K on Friday

Saturday No Box Results

Another all Texas bottom bulb final round was made up of Kevin Martin and Chad Sandlin on Saturday. Martin picks up the win and $5k over Sandlin.

kevin martin no box winner $5k saturday
Kevin Martin wins No Box on Saturday

Saturday Box Results

Saturday’s Box final round was a dragster duel between Brandon Justice and Bob Koski. Justice comes out with the $10K win as Koski settles for runner up.

brandon justice box winner saturday $10k
Brandon Justice wins $10,000 on Saturday

No Box 32 Car Shootout Results

CP Racing Promotions decided to add a 32 car No Box Shootout and 64 car Box Shootout on Saturday evening.

After turning on four win lights, Saturday’s man even winner, Kevin Martin, and Aaron Jones would meet up in the final round. Martin would claim the elusive “double up” by taking the $2,5000 win over Jones.

kevin martin no box $5k winner saturday, no box shootout winner, no box runner up sunday
Kevin Martin picks up two No Box wins on Saturday

Box 64 Car Shootout Results

Tanner Thorp and Tommy Phillips fought their way through the 64 car field to face off in the final round. In the end, Thorp would earn the $10,000 win over Phillips.

tanner thorp box shootout winner saturday
Tanner Thorp wins the 64 car Shootout on Saturday

Sunday No Box Results

Sunday’s No Box final was between two drivers who had already demonstrated their winning ways, Drew Porcher and Kevin Martin. Porcher stops Martin from the hat trick and earns his own “double up” for the weekend, along with another $5K check.

drew porcher friday and sunday no bo winner $5k
Drew Porcher wins Sunday in No Box, adding to his winnings from Friday

Sunday Box Results

Sunday’s Box final round found Dee Finch staging up beside Wayne Gibson. Finch would illuminate the final win light of the weekend and take home $10K over Gibson.

dee finch sunday box $10k winner
Dee Finch wins Sunday’s Box $10K

2020 Points Champions

CP Racing Promotion’s 2020 schedule consisted of eight events where racers could accumulate points. Once a driver was staged in first round, they were automatically entered in the points chase- with no additional cost.

The end of the year fund would be created based on car counts during the season. Five dollars for every Saturday tech card (up to 100 in No Box and 200 in Box) would be added to the points fund.

Everyone earned one point for making the first round call and would earn one additional point for every round win. If you had to buyback or won the “lotto ticket” re-entry, you were no longer eligible to earn points for that race.

The points champions at the end of the season in the Box and No Box classes would earn a 2021 gold card for entry into CP Racing Promotions events as well as half of the points fund. Second through fifth place would earn various percentages of the total points fund. Sixth through tenth place would receive varying amounts of credit towards a CP Racing Promotions event in 2021.

At the end of a season full of tough competition, Chad Sandlin would win the No Box points championship over Slade Brown. For the top bulb crowd, Johnny “Bracket Racer” Ezell brought home the championship title over Josh Burrow.

chad sandlin cp racing promotions 2020 no box points champion
Chad Sandlin is the No Box Points Champion for 2020
johnny ezell
Johnny Ezell is the Box Points Champion for 2020

A Short Off Season

CP Racing Promotions 2020 season may be over, but the racing action will be heating back up in early 2021. Cody Pollage’s first event will be held February 12-14, 2021 at State Capitol Raceway in Louisiana. You can find updated event information at the CP Racing Promotions Facebook page.

For more Halloween weekend race results, read about the Halloween Havoc at Galot or the Halloween Spooktacular at Atmore Dragway.


Jessica was born into a family of drag racers and fell in love with the sport at a young age. She began competing at 13 and has been hooked ever since! She even met her husband at the World Footbrake Challenge VII. Jessica works full time as an Ultrasound Technologist but spends almost every weekend chasing win lights at IHRA and NHRA bracket races.

You can contact her at Jessica@dragchamp.com or on her Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.