Tyler Bohannon Clinches Great American Guaranteed Million Victory

Bohannon claims the largest payday in 2021 during the SDPC Raceshop Great American Guaranteed Million contested at Capital City Motorsports Park.

MONTGOMERY, AL – The SPDC Raceshop Great American Guaranteed Million, presented by Chevrolet, continued to deliver cash as they focused on completing their Million Dollar main event on Saturday. After crowning two winners on Wednesday, the team had a little catching up to do as they battled rain showers on Thursday.

Weather couldn’t stop the Torque Tools Converter Changing Contest as Johnny Ezell and Cory Costin squared off to see who could swap converters in record time. Ezell and his team completed the task in an impressive 10 minutes and 11 seconds! They would have been crowned the winners even sooner if a weak battery didn’t delay the engine from firing. Ezell and his team received $1,000 cash and a FTI torque converter for their quick work.

On track action resumed on Friday with the completion of first round and the re-entry round of the Guaranteed Million main event as planned. Afterward, the remainder of Thursday’s Moser $80K re-entry round was finished.

johnny ezell gabr million converter changing contest
Jake Hodge interviews Johnny Ezell after winning the Torque Tools Converter Changing Contest

Saturday morning kicked off with second round of the SPDC Great American Guaranteed Million as drivers dueled to earn a seven-figure big check. The Mickey Thompson Great 48 No Box competitors ran at the start of each round, followed by top bulb door cars, and then dragsters.

Mickey Thompson Great 48 No Box

Eventually, only three drivers remained in the Mickey Thompson Great 48: Rick Baehr, Kevin Pollard, and Charlie Lockhart. Baehr has the starting line advantage with an .012 light and breaks out less than Lockhart to take the win. Pollard lays down a .006 package during his bye into the final, just because he can.

In an all-Camaro final, Baehr’s .023 light is deemed ineligible beside the .015 package put together by Pollard who earns the $5,000 bonus and a spot in the next round of top bulb competition.

rick baehr vs kevin pollard gabr
Rick Baehr vs Kevin Pollard
kevin pollard gabr million
Kevin Pollard

SPDC Great American Guaranteed Million

It’s only fitting that the highest paying race in 2021 brings out all the bells and whistles. From free food, courtesy of Troy’s Snack Shack and the Weld Racer Appreciation BBQ, to the staging lanes jumbotron thanks to Laris Motorsports Insurance, those in attendance were spoiled for the week.

There was also the “Dream Team” of announcers: Ryan Gleghorn, Jake Hodge, Jared and JJ Pennington. Mark from MotorManiaTV and Jared brought various perspectives of the event to viewers at home; from interviewing drivers in the staging lanes, chatting with sponsors, starting line footage, and clips from the finish line to keep it interesting.

great american guaranteed million announcers
Jake Hodge, Ryan Gleghorn, JJ Pennington, and Jared Pennington
laris motorsports insurance jumbotron guaranteed million
Laris Motorsports Insurance Jumbotron

Eventually, only ten competitors remained with a guaranteed million dollars at stake: a footbraking Kevin Pollard, Will Holloman, Keith Thomas, Stephen McCrory, Jake Hodge, Kevin Glenn, David Holcombe, Tyler Bohannon, Travis Eaton, and Jeff Bobo.


The survivors advanced into the quarterfinal where Tyler Bohannon would take the least stressful path into the semifinal: a bye run. Hodge had a 4 thou advantage on the tree and took 6 thou at the finish line to eliminate Pollard. McCrory backs up his 3 pack from the previous round by laying down 5 total beside Holloman who was .015 and dead on for the loss.


McCrory’s .002 reaction time earned him the coveted bye run into the million dollar final round while Bohannon and Hodge would stage up to fight for the remaining spot. Bohannon lets go .016 and runs dead on his dial to take the win over Hodge who was .020 and two above.

jake hodge great american guaranteed million
Jake Hodge
Photo credit: Holloway Sanders

Bohannon and McCrory roll into the water box with plans on winning their first seven-figure final round. McCrory will get the slight head start in the Overkill Motorsports dragster dialed in at 4.61 beside Bohannon, who is wheeling the JP Schuster rail with a 4.55 dial.

Both drivers have .012 reaction times, but the red light is shining in McCrory’s lane while Bohannon was green to claim the SDPC Raceshop Guaranteed Million main event win and his place in history. It’s also impressive to note this is Bohannon’s second consecutive final round appearance at the event.

Aside from the $1,000,000 prize and big check, Tyler Bohannon also earned a championship belt and the one-of-a-kind trophy worth nearly $6K by itself!

tyler bohannon great american guaranteed million
Tyler Bohannon
Photo credit: Holloway Sanders
tyler bohannon great american guaranteed million
Tyler Bohannon
Photo credit: Holloway Sanders
stephen mccrory great american guaranteed million
Stephen “Champ” McCrory
Photo credit: Holloway Sanders

Two More Winners on the Way

After a well-deserved winner’s circle celebration, racing resumed with second round of Thursday’s Moser $80K. Sunday will begin with 8AM eliminations for the Moser $40K and once the re-entry round is completed, the Moser $80K will alternate in starting with third round until both events are completed.

MotorManiaTV will continue their live coverage of the event sponsored by FTI, Laris Motorsports Insurance, and JEGS Performance.

For more bracket racing results and news from DragChamp, click here.


Jessica was born into a family of drag racers and fell in love with the sport at a young age. She began competing at 13 and has been hooked ever since! She even met her husband at the World Footbrake Challenge VII. Jessica works full time as an Ultrasound Technologist but spends almost every weekend chasing win lights at IHRA and NHRA bracket races.

You can contact her at Jessica@dragchamp.com or on her Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.