Monday, July 22, 2024

Winners Emerge from Northern Michigan Dragway

Another stellar weekend of racing is in the books. Over 225 entries were on hand Saturday night for Authentic 231 Racing Series event #5 at Northern Michigan Dragway. 

Early afternoon rain showers and an unfavorable evening radar forecast forced management to move races directly into elimination rounds on Saturday.   

DragChamp Logo

Matt Omar of Kaleva notched his second win of the season and took a nice lead in the Bracket I points series.  Scott Eriksen of East Jordan ousted a tough 70-entry Bracket II field with his “Undertaker” ’69 Camaro.  He moved up to 8th in the standings with the $1,200 victory.  

Six-time Pro Trophy champ David Evans met up with his father Jim Evans after each won 7 rounds in Pro Trophy’s field of 88 racers, with the younger racer taking the win.  Street Trophy honors went to Tim Stroh of Standish.  Junior class winners also celebrated, with Bear Lake racers Nathaniel Cebula taking his 2nd of the season in Advanced, and Emmett Omar nailing down his third win in 5 Mini Junior events!

Friday night’s WTCM/Statewide Towing Street Nights event drew in 130 entries.  The Rider Class had the highest number with 25 entries.  Snowmobile racers again took the top three positions with Marion’s Nick Simpson taking a $600 win on a Ski-Doo for his first trip to the NMD Winners’ Wall.   Allie Wiederhold of Kingsley knocked out two class victories (Chicks on Slicks and Money Class) for the same total in winnings.  Street Trophy had another first-time winner in Howard Herron of Benzonia.  Manton’s John Root claimed the top spot in High School.

NMD is idle this weekend as racers and staff prepare for the annual Bowtie Challenge taking place Thursday, June 22nd through Saturday, June 24th.  For more info, see NorthernMichiganDragway.com or the social media pages. 

Friday, June 9th

Riders for a Cure

Win:  Nick Simpson, Marion, Ski-Doo

R-up:  Cody Krows, Irons, Ski-Doo

Semi: Ken Knapp, Rockford, Arctic Cat

Chicks on Slicks

Win:  Allie Wiederhold, Kingsley, Ford Thunderbird

R-up: Breann Cash, Kaleva, Chevy S-10

Semi: Pam Snyder, Houghton Lake, Chevy El Camino

High School

Win: John Root, Manton, Chevy Camaro

R-up:  Gannon Dougherty, Honor, Chevy Nova

Semi: Shania Root, Manton, Chevy S-10


Win: Allie Wiederhold, Kingsley, Ford Thunderbird

R-up: Samantha Whitley, Kalkaska, Chevy Nova

Semi: Larry Morrison, Brethren, Pontiac Grand Prix

Street Trophy

Win: Howard Herron, Benzonia, Dodge Ram

R:up: Danniel Dean, Kaleva, Harley Sportster

Semi: Joseph Kott, Manistee, Buick Roadmaster

Saturday, June 10th

Bracket I

Win:  Matt Omar, Kaleva, Ford Mustang

R-up: Greg Rose, Lake Ann, Ford Mustang

Semi: Travis Mardlin, Kaleva, Chevy S-10

Bracket II

Win:  Scott Eriksen, East Jordan, Chevy Camaro

R-up:  Kyle Kidder, Benzonia, Chevy Camaro

Semi: Jim Evans, Benzonia, Buick Skylark

Pro Trophy

Win: David Evans, Benzonia, Chevy Monte Carlo

R-up: Jim Evans, Benzonia, Buick Skylark

Semi:  Rich Majchrzak, Filer City, Ford Mustang

Street Trophy

Win:  Tim Stroh, Standish, Chevy Camaro

R-up: Tim Littlefield, Cadillac, Ford F-100

Semi: Richard Mardlin, Bear Lake, Chevy Blazer

Advanced Juniors

Win:  Nathaniel Cebula, Bear Lake

R-up: Cy Kosmowski, Manistee

Semi: Allianna Bacon, Luther

Mini Juniors

Win:  Emmett Omar, Bear Lake

R-up:  Tanner Savich, Fountain

Semi: Eli Omar, Bear Lake

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.