Greer Dragway Repeats as IHRA Division 9 Champions

Greer Dragway claims their second consecutive IHRA Division 9 Championship while winning the main event in Modified and Top.

HARTSVILLE, SC – Greer Dragway defended their title as International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 9 (Raiders) Summit Team Finals champions over the weekend.

Greer Dragway took a 65-57  win over host facility Darlington Dragway. Other tracks who participated were: Farmington Dragway, Ware Shoals Dragway, Union County Dragway, Coastal Plains Dragway, Pageland Dragway, Elk Creek Dragway, South Carolina Motorplex, Palm Beach International Raceway and Cherokee Race Park.

Leading up to the main event, racers participated in a Friday Gambler’s race, Saturday Gambler’s Race, Race of Champions, and “best of” awards.

team greer dragway
Team Greer Dragway
Photo credit: Mike Smart Photography

Top Main Event

In an all Greer Dragway final round, Kip Maddox took the win over Tyler Mosley. Maddox had an .016 reaction time and ran dead on his 5.34 dial in at 124 mph. Mosley was .023 at the starting line and ran one above his 5.85 dial in for the runner up position.

Kip Maddox Top main event winner
Kip Maddox from Greer Dragway wins Top

Modified Main Event

The Modified final round was an all Chevy Nova battle between Greer Dragway’s Chad Dotson and Darlington Dragway’s Joel Stoudemire. Dotson had a 6.42 second run at 103 mph with a .043 reaction time to defeat his opponent. Stoudemire posted a 5.93 elapsed time at 113 mph with a .081 reaction time.

Chad Dotson Modified main event winner
Chad Dotson from Greer Dragway wins Modified

Sportsman Main Event

Jacob Waibel (Palm Beach International Raceway) captured the win with a 9.22 elapsed time at 76 mph, coupled with a .138 reaction time. Brandy Sells (Elk Creek Dragway) went 10.82 seconds at 66 mph but had to settle as runner up with her .001 red light reaction time.

Jacob Waibel Sportsman main event winner
Jacob Waibel from Palm Beach International Raceway wins Sportsman

Junior Dragster Main Event

The Junior Dragster final round was an all Darlington Dragway match up between Gabe Williamson and Dylan White. Williamson had a .049 reaction time and ran 8.93 seconds at 71 mph for the win. White ran an 8.01 elapsed time at 71 mph but his .008 red light reaction time left him as the runner up. 

Gabriel Williamson Junior dragster main event winner
Gabriel Williamson from Darlington Dragway wins Junior Dragster

Friday Gamblers Race Results


Rusty Maddox from Greer Dragway ran dead on his 4.42 dial in with an .014 reaction time to win Friday’s Gamblers Race. Travis Rollins from Union County Dragway also ran dead on his 5.64 dial in, but his .019 reaction time left him in the runner up position.

rusty maddox wins friday gamblers race top
Rusty Maddox wins Friday’s Top gamblers race as well as the Best Engineered Open Body Car award


Tommy Duff from Coastal Plains Dragway was .039 on the tree and ran dead on his 7.12 dial in to pick up the win on Friday. Farmington Dragway’s Timmy Alexander was the runner up when he ran 6.52 on his 6.53 dial in with an .050 reaction time.

tommy duff modified gamblers race winner friday
Tommy Duff wins Friday’s Modified gamblers race

Junior Dragster

Kristen Brady (Farmington Dragway) ran 8.10 on a 8.08 dial-in with an .047 reaction time to defeat Jadyn Price. Price (Union County Dragway) ran 7.94 on a 7.92 dial-in with an .048 reaction time.

kristen brady junior dragster gamblers winner friday
Kristen Brady wins Friday’s Junior Dragster gamblers race

Saturday Gamblers Race


Kevin Burkett (Coastal Plains Dragway) runs 4.83 on a 4.81 dial-in with an .028 reaction time to defeat Robert Hefti (Farmington Dragway) who ran 4.55 on a 4.50 dial-in with an .026 reaction time.

kevin burkett top gamblers winner saturday
Kevin Burkett wins the Top gamblers race on Saturday


Perry Green (Coastal Plains Dragway) 7.03 on a 7.02 dial-in with an .033 reaction time defeated Aaron Brock. Brock (Darlington Dragway) ran a 7.07 on his 7.07 dial-in with an .045 reaction time.

perry green modified gamblers winner saturday
Perry Green wins the Modified gamblers race on Saturday

Junior Dragster

Cam Whisnant (Farmington Dragway) runs 8.01 on a 8.03 dial-in using an .025 reaction time to win Saturday. He defeated Stephen Rodgers (Ware Shoals Dragway) who ran 8.98 on a 8.98 dial-in, but had a -.006 reaction time.

cam whisnant junior dragster gamblers race winner saturday
Cam Whisnant wins the Junior Dragster gamblers race on Saturday

Race of Champions


Todd Sinclair (Union County Dragway) uses an .022 reaction time and runs 4.84 on a 4.82 dial-in to defeat Steve Hilburn. Hilburn, from Darlington Dragway, ran 5.29 on a 5.28 dial-in with an .055 reaction time.

todd sinclair top race of champions winner
Todd Sinclair wins the Top Race of Champions as well as the Best Appearing Open Bodied Car award


Aaron Brock, from Darlington Dragway, is .028 on the tree and one above his 7.07 dial-in to take the win. Jimmy Reeves, from Elk Creek Dragway, settles for runner up when he runs 6.12 on a 6.10 dial-in with an .038 reaction time.

Aaron Brock wins the Modified Race of Champions
Photo credit: J Denise Spink

Junior Dragster

Brian Yerger (Farmington Dragway) runs 7.96 on an 7.99 dial-in with an .014 reaction time to defeat Madalin Simmons. Simmons, from South Carolina Motorplex, had a -.002 reaction time and ran 7.56 on a 7.54 dial-in.

brian yerger junior dragster race of champions winner
Brian Yerger (right) is the Junior Dragster Race of Champions winner

The “Best” Awards:

raiders logo ihra divsion 9
  • Appearing Open Bodied Car: Todd Sinclair – Union County Dragway
  • Engineered Open Bodied Car: Rusty Maddox – Greer Dragway
  • Appearing Full Bodied Car: Robert Rayfield – Pageland Dragway
  • Engineered Full Bodied Car: Wayne Covick – Pageland Dragway
  • Appearing Junior Dragster: Callie Hall – Greer Dragway
  • Engineered Junior Dragster: Adam Agee – Greer Dragway
  • Decorated Grandstands: Darlington Dragway
  • Appearing Team: Coastal Plains Dragway

Final Team Standings

  1. Greer Dragway – 65
  2. Darlington Dragway – 57
  3. Farmington Dragway – 48
  4. Ware Shoals Dragway – 42
  5. Union County Dragway – 33
  6. Coastal Plains Dragway – 20
  7. Pageland Dragway – 19
  8. Elk Creek Dragway – 13
  9. South Carolina Motorplex – 11
  10. Palm Beach International Raceway – 2
  11. Cherokee Race Park – 1

Congratulations to all the finalists and to Greer Dragway for picking up another championship. The next stop for IHRA is the Summit SuperSeries World Finals at Memphis International Raceway. Drivers will compete for World Championship titles October 15-17.

Check out more IHRA Summit Team Finals results from the weekend by reading about Division 2 here. Or read about big money bracket racing by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.