Thursday, July 18, 2024

Bogan Takes Early Lead in Rooftec Competition Eliminator Bonus Fund Points

Monty Bogan Jr. drove his way to victory and the early points lead for the Rooftec Competition Eliminator Bonus as NHRA’s Division 4 Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event at No Problem Raceway in Belle Rose, La.

Bogan carries a 19-point lead over runner-up Jeff Taylor into the second NHRA Division 4 event scheduled later this month at Houston Raceway Park in Baytown, Texas.

“To say I feel great about this seems so inadequate,” Bogan said of the early points lead for a weekend where he won not only Competition eliminator but also Super Stock. “When you can come out of a divisional event where there are 28 cars with a win, it is every bit as challenging and rewarding as a national event. 

“What they have done with this division and this series is nothing short of incredible for all of us racers. I said when I came in here, I wanted to take Rodger Brogdon’s money. What he has done here is absolutely a blessing for every racer competing for this Rooftec Competition Eliminator bonus.”


Six of the 10 top points earners in the Rooftec Competition Eliminator Bonus are from drivers who live in other divisions, some traveling from as far as California and Washington state. The point champion at the end of the season can pocket $100,000.

Bogan understands he’s got an uphill climb to win the title with eight more races left on the schedule. Racers do not have to declare Division 4 as their division and are only required to run seven of the nine races to be eligible for the perks of the series at the end of the year.

Thus far in the two-year span of the Rooftec Competition Eliminator Fund’s existence, no racer has won more than one event in a season. Bogan said he is ready to change that. 

“This competition is exactly what I expected, and honestly more,” Bogan said. “With that said, they’re saying no one has won more than one of these races in a season. You can plan on it. I intend to win another one.”

Rootec Competition Eliminator Bonus Fund Points
1.Monty Bogan Jr.95
2.Jeff Taylor74
3.Craig Bourgeois63
4.Jim Kimbrough63
5.Cody Lane52
6.Keith Hall52
7.Taylor Chomiski52
8.Brad Brewer41
9.Brad Plourd41
10.Brooke Heckle41

Leave a Reply

Click here to join our newsletter.